Types of Sources
There are three different types of sources: Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary. When doing legal research you will be using mostly primary and secondary sources. We will explore these different types of sources in the sections below.
Secondary sources often explain legal principles more thoroughly than a single case or statute. Starting with them can help you save time.
Secondary sources are particularly useful for:
- Learning the basics of a particular area of law
- Understanding key terms of art in an area
- Identifying essential cases and statutes
Consider the following when deciding which type of secondary source is right for you:
- Scope/Breadth
- Depth of Treatment
- Currentness/Reliability
Legal Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Legal Dictionaries
Legal dictionaries are similar to other dictionaries that you have likely used before.
Legal Encyclopedias
Legal encyclopedias contain brief, broad summaries of legal topics, providing introductions and explaining terms of art. They also provide citations to primary law and relevant major law review articles.
- American Jurisprudence (AmJur) This resource is available in Nexis via OneSearch.
- Gale Encyclopedia of American Law Covers leading cases, statutes, legal terns and concepts, and notable persons and important documents. Cross references/links to other resources when necessary. Published in 2013.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law Practical guides relating to the law and it's impact on individuals. Includes brief descriptions of issues including historical background, statutes and cases, profiles, and how laws differ between states. Published in 2013.
- Oxford Legal References Legal Encyclopedias and dictionaries from Oxford University Press.
Treatises
Treatises are books on legal topics. These books are a good place to begin your research. They provide explanation, analysis, and citations to the most relevant primary sources. Treatises range from single subject overviews to deep treatments of broad subject areas.
It is important to check the date when the treatise was published. Many are either not updated, or are updated through the release of newer editions.
Law Reviews & Journals
Law reviews are scholarly publications, usually edited by law students in conjunction with faculty members. They contain both lengthy articles and shorter essays by professors and lawyers. They also contain comments, notes, or developments in the law written by law students. Articles often focus on new or emerging areas of law and may offer critical commentary. Some law reviews are dedicated to a particular topic while others are general. Occasionally, law reviews will include issues devoted to proceedings of panels and symposia.
Law review and journal articles are extremely narrow and deep with extensive references.
To find law review articles visit:
- Law Journal Library on HeinOnlineSelect Law Journal Library under Browse Databases by Name