Getting Started
Encyclopedias & Reference Tools
For classical music topics, this is a scholarly encyclopedia containing background information about composers and music historical genres. This is the best resource for background information on any classical music topic.
Includes access to Grove Music Online, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music. Comprehensive resource covering all musical topics.
Video Tutorial
Contains Oxford music reference tools, including Larkin’s Encyclopedia of Popular Music, Grove Dictionary of American Music, Grove Book of Operas, Dictionary of Opera Characters, and more.
- Oxford History of Western Music
(print only, 6 volumes)
The Oxford History of Western Music offers a comprehensive account of the evolution of Western Classical music. Find in the Music Library’s Reference section at ML 160 T18 2005
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
(print only, 10 volumes, compact disc)
The first comprehensive resource devoted to music research of all the world’s peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music. Find in the Music Library’s Reference section at ML 100 G16 1998
Find Books, Scores, Recordings
Discover research materials: The catalog's unique search interface allows patrons to simultaneously search several article databases, catalogs, and other data sources for books, journal articles, videos, scores, maps, and more!
Shared catalog: As a shared catalog for the Orbis Cascade Alliance (Summit), which is a consortium of 38 academic libraries across Oregon, Washington, and Idaho, OneSearch contains 8.8 million titles and over 26 million resources.
Request materials at point-of-need: You can request an item through the catalog, or submit an Interlibrary Loan request.
Thousands of libraries may be searched from this one catalog: Interlibrary Loan requests can also be made.
Citations of music manuscripts written 1600 to ca.1850; information about their composers; information about libraries worldwide with RISM-relevant holdings.
RISM is an international, non-profit organization which aims for comprehensive documentation of extant musical sources worldwide. These primary sources are manuscripts or printed music, writings on music theory, and libretti. These materials are housed in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools and private collections.
Started in 2006, IMSLP, also known as the Petrucci Music Library, is a virtual library of public domain musical scores. Currently, IMSLP contains 130,282 works, 426,309 scores, 49,415 recordings, representing 16,134 composers and 467 performers.
More Recordings: Streaming Sound and Video Databases
- Music Online: Classical Music Library [Alexander Street]Streaming audio with a supplementary reference database, enabling patrons to listen while simultaneously searching and browsing the Classical reference database. Send-to-mobile functionality.
- Naxos Music Library [Naxos Digital Services]A collection containing almost 2 million tracks of classical music, jazz, world, folk and Chinese music. Notes and biographical information are included with the music.
- Met Opera on Demand [The Metropolitan Opera]An online video and audio streaming service for hundreds of full-length Metropolitan Opera performances.
- Berliner Philharmoniker's Digital Concert HallAccess to streaming video of over 700 concert videos from six decades. Also includes live broadcasts, films, documentaries, artist portraits, and interviews with members of the Berlin Philharmonic.
To access this database, you must set up an account first. Registration is only possible within the WWU campus IP ranges or if you can not come to campus use the VPN. Access is limited to one user at a time, if already in use there will be a message to try later as all streams are occupied. - medici.tvA repository and live streaming service for arts performances, documentaries, and other educational videos. Includes opera, dance, and concert performances.
Tip:Users may create individual accounts, see individual account instructions.
Find Journal Articles
- JSTOR [ITHAKA]A multi-disciplinary full-text database of articles from many scholarly journals. Content available is usually 1-5 years behind the most recently published journal article. Also contains some current journals and books.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature [EBSCO]Scroll down to the bottom of EBSCO's list of databases and select RILM, a database providing access to portions of books, international periodical literature, and other music publications. The print version is available in the Music Library building reference area (ML 1 I83).
- Music Periodicals Database [ProQuest]A database of indexed abstracts and full-texts for music periodicals, covering both scholarly journals and popular magazines.
- Project Muse [Johns Hopkins University Press]A database of books and journal articles covering topics in the humanities and social sciences. Full-texts are available for some resources.
- Music Index [EBSCO]An index to publications about music and musicians, including performance reviews, obituaries, periodicals, and book reviews.
Tip:A print version is available in the Music Library reference area (ML 118 .M84).
Writing Essays
- A Short Guide to Writing about Music
by Jonathan Bellman
Written in a clear and conversational style, this book examines a wide range of writing assignments and includes writing samples as a means to illustrate effective writing.
Find in the Music Library’s Reference section at ML 3797.B4 2007
This is a guide to style, usage, and grammar in an accessible online format, describing citing books and scores, journals, dictionaries and encyclopedias, audio & visual, and websites.
Head of Music Library
Guide development
Guide developed by Monica Morton, WWU Distinguished Student Employee