Business & Economics Research Guide: Case Studies

Harvard Business Review (HBR) cases are part of a separate Harvard Publishing database. In order to access HBR Cases, students must each buy an individual copy. Selected HBR cases are available through Harvard Business Review. Harvard Business Review is available through Business Source Complete; however, due to their restrictive copyright, access and use of their materials in classrooms is limited. 

HBR cases are indexed in Business Source Complete by year, but full-text is not available. 

(For more info, see the page: Can I use Harvard Business Review articles and cases for course reserves?)

Case studies are available from different places, some are pay sites, some are free. Below are sources that are either open access (free) or available through Western Libraries subscriptions. (Access to some resources can change without notice.)

Western Libraries Databases
Business Source Complete: At the search screen, enter the topic. Below, under either Document Type or Publication Type, select "Case Study." Not all cases listed are full text. Cases can be difficult to request through Interlibrary Loan. 

Open-Access Sources (free)
Journal of Business Case Studies (open access journal)
JBCS (part of the Clute Institute) publishes cases on a range of topics. Current issue and archives can be access on their site. JCBS can also be searched and accessed through One Search. JBCS' searchable archives can be accessed here. 

Case Centre: The Case Centre offers access to case methods to cases from numerous schools and organizations. Cases are available to registered educators. You will need to create an account to access and download cases.

Learning Edge (MIT Sloan School of Management): Learning Edge provides free cases as well as simulation games. In order to access simulation games you will need to create an account. 

Ivey Business School Free Cases (University of Western Ontario): Ivey offers a limited number of complimentary cases for classroom purposes. Other cases can be purchased.