Government Information: Non-Government Sources for Government Information

An archive of sites that collect data related to Freedom of Information Act requests, and the publications revealed.

Allows you to search millions of U.S. and foreign patents.

A collection of federal material released through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).

The world's largest nongovernmental collection of declassified U.S. documents.

Includes hundreds of facts about each Supreme COurt decision since 1949.

Statistics related to race and ethnic breakdowns in metropolitan areas, presented by Brandeis University.

Demography - 1790 to Present

Statistics on many topics compiled by the Kelley School of business at Indiana University.

A database of information about federal bills (proposed laws) from 1949 forward.

This website organizes 900 of our nation's major laws on a timeline, and relates them to events of their time.

A site that allows you track the actions of your congresspersons.

Provides data on money in relation to congressional action.

A nonpartisan guide to the actions of Congress.

Tracks bills currently in Congress, often giving the estimated cost per family.

Intended to be a user-friendly search engine for the Federal Register, which lists all proposed and final rules and regulations created by the Executive Branch.

This site collects reports by the Inspectors General of federal agencies, describing how well or badly the bodies are doing their jobs.

The Council of States provides this free annual collection of data about the states.

Statistics and other data about every county in the U.S.

The Center for Responsive Politics tracks money in U.S. politics.

The Project tracks changes in US government policy.

A nonprofit organization providing data, tools, and policy recommendations to promote open government.