Western Libraries - COMM235: Exposition & Argumentation - Library Resources and Research - Library Guides at Western Washington University

Welcome!

Western Libraries can serve your information and research needs! This guide has been personalized for the Comm 235 course. In some cases, you may have trouble finding what you need. When that happens don't hesitate to contact me! My contact information is located on the right side of the page.

Reference and Book Resources

Encyclopedia of applied ethics by Ruth Chadwick
Call Number: Haggard 2 -Reference BJ63 .E446 1998
This is an invaluable resource to explore the broad concepts of particular issues. Each entry includes vocabulary, summaries of multiple perspectives and a bibliography.
Encyclopedia of associations
This is a directory of organizations, associations and institutions in the United States and internationally. The directory includes contact information, budget, membership information, publications, and a description of activities and policies.

Library resources can help you:

Develop your resolution
Understand specialized vocabulary
Provide information on organizations related to your resolution
Provide background on scholarship related to your resolution

Contemporary World Issues Series

This series covers a variety of current issues and includes resources, timelines and legislation. Search the library catalog using a KEYWORD search to identify and locate individual titles.
Example: "contemporary world issues" (phrase in quotes) AND your topic (no quotes necessary).

Note: Some of the books in this series are in the reference area, non-circulating, and some are available for check-out.

Opposing Viewpoints Series

This circulating series is similar to Contemporary World Issues. Each book tackles both sides of a specific issue. Search the library catalog (Keyword Search) to identify and locate individual titles.
Example: "opposing viewpoints" (in quotes!) AND your topic (no need for quotation marks).

Two particularly helpful book sets in the Reference Area (non-circulating):

Recommended Databases: Find Articles, Book Chapters, Reports and More!

CQ Researcher [CQ Press / Sage]
A resource for in-depth coverage of political and social issues, written by experienced journalists.
Published 44 times a year, each 12,000-word report includes a background and chronology, an assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, statements from representatives of opposing viewpoints, and bibliographies of key sources. Topics include health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
HeinOnline
A database of historical and government documents, including complete coverage of 2,600 law-related periodicals.
Includes the Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, U.S. Reports back to 1754, treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. presidents, and other topics.
Ethnic Newswatch [ProQuest]
A database of over 2.5 million articles and more than 340 publications from ethnic and minority presses.
Includes full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals intended to provide researchers with access to “essential, often overlooked perspectives." Also includes historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. Includes unique community publications as well as top scholarly journals focused on a wide variety of ethnic or racial groups as well as ethnic studies.
PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service [ProQuest]
An international database of over 500,000 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, reports, conference papers, web content, and other sources.
Publications cover 120 countries around the world on topics including justice, finance, culture and religion, the environment, education, government, health, human rights, international relations, labor, law, defense, politics, demographics, social conditions, trade, and transportation.
EBSCO Multi-Database Search
Search all EBSCO databases at once, or click "choose databases" to customize the databases included in your search.