Library Guides: MGMT 491: Small Business Entrepreneurship: Marketing Strategy

Marketing: Company & Industry Resources

Business Source Complete, Mergent Online, and IBISWorld will provide a general view of a company and it's competitive landscape.

For more in-depth information on researching a company and industry, see the Company and Industry pages for more help.

IBISWorld
IBISWorld covers more than 700 industries. Each report includes industry analysis, including segmentation and the top competitors of each industry.

Business Source Complete [EBSCO]
BSC has both company and industry reports that provide background and context. They include basic financials, lists of competitors, and some segmentation.
Mergent Online
Provides financial information about public and private companies, including sales and revenue. It can be searched by industry allowing you to to see competitors.
Dossier [LexisNexis]
A guide to corporate families in the U.S. and worldwide. Covers public and private firms, manufacturers of specific products, services, executives, net worth, sales data, and recent mergers.
Tip: If you are off campus you will need to use the VPN for access.

Marketing: Consumer Behavior

These are resources for researching marketing and consumer behavior. These resources can be used to find out information about who is using a product, who might be using a product, possible demand, and use of a product by a certain group or a specific geography. This information can be used to help determine whether there is a need for a product or small business in a certain area.

Simmons Catalyst [MRI-Simmons]
University Reporter provides consumer behavior information relating to what people are watching, reading, or buying. National-level data.
Business Source Complete [EBSCO]
Search for articles about consumer behavior, purchasing habits, and more.

Explore Census Data
The U.S. Census Bureau's main webpage for information from the 2000 Census and related data.

PsycARTICLES [EBSCO]
Provides full-text articles and studies related to organizational behavior and consumer behavior.
PsycINFO [EBSCO]
Provides summaries of articles and studies related to organizational behavior and consumer behavior.

Locating US Industry Reports

Short (less than 3 min) videos; will open in a new screen.

Business Source Complete

IBISWorld