Education

Children and young adult books spark the imagination, provide insight into cultural values, inspire artistic design and explore the literatures of prose, poetry and wordplay. The children and young adult literature collections in the Western Libraries are rich in historical and contemporary materials. Distinct from a public library or school library, our collection contains a wide range of publications that reflect the breadth, depth, controversy, continuing evolution and complexity of literature written for children and young adults. The Children's Literature Interdisciplinary Collection, or CLIC as we fondly refer to this collection, is located on the Wilson side of the library on 4th floor East.

Book are arranged by Library of Congress Classification (Not Dewey Decimal)

CLIC has SIX areas:

• New Children's Display - Most items in the New Display were published recently, but there are some older materials on the shelves that fill retrospective gaps in the collection. 
• Picture Books - Arranged alphabetically by author's last name A-Z 
• Poetry for Children and Teens PoetryCHaT - Includes novels in narrative verse, anthologies, and nonfiction. 
• New Canadian Literature Display - Items in this display are funded through the generosity of the Center for Canadian-American Studies. Arranged by Library of Congress Classification (Not Dewey Decimal!)
• Curriculum - A small collection, these materials are intended to support current classes. Locate items under Curric E (Elementary) and Curric S (Secondary). 
• Children’s Literature Collection - Includes early readers, novels, nonfiction, and folktales. 

The materials in this academic research collection represent points of view, ideas, images and opinions across a wide range of age, race, religion, national origin, social status and political viewpoints. In the retention and acquisition of controversial texts and illustrations, the collection provides an opportunity for the examination of both historical and contemporary issues in children’s literature. There is no question that silencing, marginalization, and disrespect are real experiences. So, why retain problematic material? Simply put, the WWU Children's Collections are evidential.

The primary role of an academic children’s literature collection is distinct from public and school libraries. Historical and contemporary context is essential to the critical examination of books for youth. Knowledge of the breadth and depth of children’s literature can raise awareness regarding insightful, and ground breaking works that are housed alongside dated and offensive items. We retain and purchase materials on subjects that might not, or should not, be included in public or school library collections such as religious intolerance, gender bias, and racial stereotyping. Conversely, we celebrate authors and illustrators who reach beyond their place and time to offer children and young people a wider universe. 

The Children’s Literature Interdisciplinary Collection supports students and faculty from a variety of disciplines including Art, Canadian Studies, Communication, Education, English, History, and Theatre Arts. These texts and illustrations are made available for evidential exploration, critical study and creative inspiration.