Map Collection

This web site provides access to the 50 state reports, ranking each county within the 50 states according to its health outcomes and the multiple health factors that determine a county’s health. Each county receives a summary rank for its health outcomes and health factors and also for the four different types of health factors: health behaviors, clinical care, social and economic factors, and the physical environment. Each county can also drill down to see specific county-level data (as well as state benchmarks) for the measures upon which the rankings are based.

Open Street Map is a project that collects and maintains mapping data. People all over the world can use GPS devices or software to record accurate mapping data, then that data can be used any application requiring GIS data for free.

Social Explorer provides easy access to demographic information about the United States from 1790 to the present. Free version.

Worldmapper is a collection of world maps, where territories are re-sized on each map according to the subject of interest.
There are now nearly 700 maps.

Search communities that exactly match your requirements.

The collection consists of more than 25,000 items in the form of books, maps, manuscripts, pamphlets, broadsides, and assorted printed documents. It ranges in scope from invoices for rope, ships' logs, and gilt-edged trade treaties between Western and Eastern monarchs to diaries, travel narratives, and missionary accounts. The items in the collection currently date between 400 C.E. and 1825 C.E.

The principal collection for cartographic materials at the University of Michigan, with an emphasis on both historic and modern mapping, including digital resources.

The Harvard Map Collection maintains a collection digital resources in a variety of formats. Thousands of data layers for use in Geographic Information Systems are available for use on the HMC research workstations. The Map Collection is also the primary contributor of GIS data to the Harvard Geospatial Library, where even more layers can be downloaded. In addition to data for use in GIS programs, the Harvard Map Collection holds thousands of digital images and electronic atlases.

Stony Brook University holds bromide facsimiles of the topographic T-sheet) and hydrographic (H-sheet) surveys, some of which are longer than 3 meters.

labama Maps is an ongoing project of the Cartographic Research Laboratory, which operates under the auspices of the College of Arts and Sciences at the University of Alabama.

The Hargrett Rare Book & Manuscript Library at the University of Georgia Libraries maintains a collection of more than 1,000 historic maps spanning nearly 500 years, from the sixteenth century through the early twentieth century. Although not limited to a single geographic subject, the collection heavily emphasizes Georgia as colony and state, along with its surrounding region.

A growing collection of books, atlases, globes, digital products, and microforms complement a collection of over 300,000 sheet maps.

Historical and Topographic Maps from the Cartographic Institute of Catalunya.

The American Geographical Society Library Digital Map Collection currently contains over 500 maps, ranging from early maps of Asia to historical maps of Wisconsin and Milwaukee, and other American cities, states, and national parks. The digital collection is under continuing development.

Some of the world's finest early maps, such as Matthew Paris' Map of Great Britain and The Anglo-Saxon Mappa Mundi, as well as selections from several collections, such as the Crace Maps of London, are available via an interactive viewer and are accompanied by extensive curator's notes.

The historical map collection has over 22,000 maps and images online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented.

The European Digital Archive on Soil Maps of the World

The Geography and Map Division (G&M) has custody of the largest and most comprehensive cartographic collection in the world with collections numbering over 5.5 million maps, 80,000 atlases, 6,000 reference works, over 500 globes and globe gores, 3,000 raised relief models, and a large number of cartographic materials in other formats, including over 19,000 CDs/DVDs. The online Map Collections represents only a small fraction that have been converted to digital form. These images were created from maps and atlases and, in general, are restricted to items that are in public domain, meaning those which are not covered by copyright.

The Earth Observatory’s mission is to share with the public the images, stories, and discoveries about climate and the environment that emerge from NASA research, including its satellite missions, in-the-field research, and climate models.

The Newberry Library holds an estimated 500,000 maps issued separately and in atlases and books. Half of these were published before 1900. The map and atlas collections are supported by very extensive holdings in the literature of the history of cartography, cartobibliography and map catalogs, and gazetteer and place name literature. To date, over 65,000 cartographic titles (maps, atlases, and secondary literature) are described in the Newberry Library Cartographic Catalog (NLCC).

The Atlas of Cartographic Curiosities

GIS Data, Zoning Maps, Critical Areas Maps, Shoreline Maps, Soils Maps, Lake Whatcom Maps, Health Department Maps, and more...

170 color digital images of examples from the University of Washington Libraries Special Collections Division’s Rare Map Collection.

View/download GIS standard maps products online in Adobe Acrobat, PDF format. View information about DOE GIS applications and download scripts. Find out about the GIS Projects the Department of Ecology is working on or has done. View sample images of our GIS data, read the FGDC compliant metadata, and/or download the data.

Find natural resources and related data for use in your Geographic Information Systems (GIS) software. The data are free to download at no charge.

Access interactive earth science mapping, data, and related information.

Public Lands by County

Early Washington Maps: A Digital Collection is a collaboration between Manuscripts, Archives, and Special Collections and the University of Washington Libraries spanning three hundred years.

With the new Bing Maps, you can see what's near a location, pin results you like, and explore cities at eye level.

Explore satellite and aerial imagery of Earth from multiple sources including NASA, Microsoft and more inside a single Flash-based interface

Create and support innovative, exciting ideas and applications using Ordnance Survey mapping. With OS OpenData you can access a selection of the most detailed mapping datasets available for Great Britain.