Music Education Resources

Featuring chapters by the world's foremost scholars in music education and cognition, this handbook is a convenient collection of current research on music teaching and learning. This comprehensive work includes sections on arts advocacy, music and medicine, teacher education, and studioinstruction, among other subjects, making it an essential reference for music education programs. The original Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning, published in 1992 with the sponsorship of the Music Educators National Conference (MENC), was hailed as "a welcome addition to theliterature on music education because it serves to provide definition and unity to a broad and complex field" (Choice). This new companion volume, again with the sponsorship of MENC, explores the significant changes in music and arts education that have taken place in the last decade. Notably,several chapters now incorporate insights from other fields to shed light on multi-cultural music education, gender issues in music education, and non-musical outcomes of music education. Other chapters offer practical information on maintaining musicians' health, training music teachers, andevaluating music education programs. Philosophical issues, such as musical cognition, the philosophy of research theory, curriculum, and educating musically, are also explored in relationship to policy issues. In addition to surveying the literature, each chapter considers the significance of theresearch and provides suggestions for future study. Covering a broad range of topics and addressing the issues of music education at all age levels, from early childhood to motivation and self-regulation, this handbook is an invaluable resource for music teachers, researchers, and scholars.

An updated and practical approach to research concepts, techniques, and sources from the 4th edition.

This practical text provides a comprehensive introduction to understanding research in music education and music therapy. Designed primarily for the introductory research course taken by upper-level undergraduates and graduate students, it is also useful for all interested undergraduates inboth fields. In contrast with traditional "how to" textbooks, Exploring Research in Music Education and Music Therapy adopts a unique "how to read and comprehend" approach to music research. It helps students explore and understand articles in professional research journals, familiarizing them withthe literature itself and with basic concepts, terms, and statistical symbols. The book opens with an overview of the research process and then offers in-depth coverage of a broad range of research genres: historical, philosophical, qualitative, quantitative, mixed-methods, and action research. Integrating relevant real-world examples of each genre into the text, authorKenneth Phillips includes eighteen full-length research articles that are elucidated by his own detailed commentary. The text also demonstrates how research findings can be applied in classrooms or therapeutic situations, thereby serving as a bridge between knowledge and practice. Exploring Research in Music Education and Music Therapy is enhanced by study and discussion questions, suggested activities, and three appendices that contain resources for locating research articles in music education, music therapy, and the psychology of music. Grounded in the author'sextensive research background and teaching experience, this exceptional text offers students, music teachers, and music therapists an accessible and engaging entree into the world of music research.

This collection of research articles is designed for use in the classroom with graduate and upper-level undergraduate students.