Library Guides: Music Education Resources: Home

Music Education

Please note, this guide is only an indication of resources in the Music Library for studies in music education. It is not a comprehensive listing of all relevant materials, but this guide does provide you with the resources to begin your research.

Article Indexes & Databases for Music Education

Article Indexes:
International Index to Music Periodicals [electronic resource]: IIMP. Alexandria,
VA: Chadwyck-Healey Inc.; [Ann Arbor, MI]: Pro Quest Information and Learning Company
ML113 .I58 [internet]

Music Index. Detroit: Information Coordinators, 1949-
   Print version covers articles published 1949-2005. Online version covers articles published
   from 1979-present
   ML118 .M84 [internet]

RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature. New York, NY: RILM; Baltimore, MD: NISC, c1997-
Print version covers 1969-1997
ML1 .I835 [internet]

Databases for Music Education:
CAIRSS for Music: Computer-assisted Information Retrieval Service System. San
   Antonio, TX: Institute for Music Research, University of Texas, 1994?-
Provides only citations to 27 periodicals related to music education, psychology, medicine,    and music therapy
   ML113 .C32 1994 [internet]

Musical Education Resource Base: Including the Canadian Music Index. Victoria, BC:       University of Victoria, c1995
   An index covering about 35 periodicals normally indexed in Canadian Music Index since    1956
   ML128 .I64 [internet]

Core Databases

Canadian Music Periodical Index [Government of Canada]
An index of citations to over 37,000 music-related articles dating from the late-19th century to the present day.
Music Online: Classical Music Library [Alexander Street]
A repository of classical music recordings ranging from medieval to modern times.
Music Periodicals Database [ProQuest]
A database of indexed abstracts and full-texts for music periodicals, covering both scholarly journals and popular magazines.
JSTOR [ITHAKA]
A multi-disciplinary full-text database of articles from many scholarly journals. Content available is usually 1-5 years behind the most recently published journal article. Also contains some current journals and books.
medici.tv
A repository and live streaming service for arts performances, documentaries, and other educational videos. Includes opera, dance, and concert performances.
Tip: Users may create individual accounts, see individual account instructions.
Music Index [EBSCO]
An index to publications about music and musicians, including performance reviews, obituaries, periodicals, and book reviews.
Tip: A print version is available in the Music Library reference area (ML 118 .M84).
Naxos Music Library [Naxos Digital Services]
A collection containing almost 2 million tracks of classical music, jazz, world, folk and Chinese music. Notes and biographical information are included with the music.
Met Opera on Demand [The Metropolitan Opera]
Met Opera on Demand offers users instant access to full-length Metropolitan Opera performances, including HD videos from the Met’s award-winning Live in HD series of movie theater transmissions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, ‘80s, and ‘90s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1935.
Oxford Music Online (Grove Music Online) [Oxford University Press]
A reference resource covering all aspects of music, including composers, performers, other persons involved with music, terminology, musical genres and forms, orchestras, institutions, and cities and towns with significant musical traditions.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature [EBSCO]
A database providing access to portions of books, international periodical literature, and other music publications.
Tip: The print version is available in the Music Library building reference area (ML 1 I83).

Helpful Links

Professional Organizations:

National Association for Music Education
MENC provides educational, networking, and teachers resources for music educators.
American Choral Directors Association
The ACDA seeks to bring excellence to choral music through music education. Their website provides detailed information about the organization and opportunities for involvement.
American Orff-Schulwerk Association
A professional organization of music and movement educators dedicated to the creative teaching approach developed by Carl Orff and Gunild Keetman.
Canadian Music Educators Association
The aim of CMEA/ACME is to encourage and guide the development and delivery of quality music education programs within a balanced curriculum and to encourage the confident and competent teaching of music.
National Association of Teachers of Singing (NATS)
The largest national association of teachers of singing, NATS offers a variety of professional development tools including workshops, internship opportunities, master classes, and conferences.

Related Call Numbers

M1985.................Musical Games
M1990.................Kindergarten Songbooks
M1992.................Primary & Secondary School Songbooks
ML81...................Musical Prodigies
ML83..................Children and Music
ML128.J8............Bibliography Juvenile Music
ML132.................Graded Lists
ML156.4.C5.........Discography Children’s Music
ML3928-3930.......Literature for Children
MT17...................Music in Special Education
MT155.................Theory for Children
MT918.................School Music
MT920.................Kindergarten Music
MT930.................Elementary School Music
MT948 & M1993...Action Songs

Subject Terms

Selecting search terms:
When you are just beginning your research, discovering which terms to search on can be daunting. Here are a couple approaches:

Conduct a Subject search on the phrase Music Instruction and Study Juvenile. This will pull up a large list of subject headings, each linked to a list of related materials.
When you find a good resource, pull out key terms or phrases from the bibliographic record to use in Keyword search.

Limiting searches by media type:

Searches can be limited to media type. Either conduct an Advanced Keyword search and limit your search to printed materials (for books), music recordings (for sound recordings), or visual media (for DVDs and VHS), or conduct your search and click the limit/sort button at the top of the search results list.

How to search the catalog:

On the library catalog page, change the drop-down menu to "Subject" and use any of these additional subject terms.

Jaques-Dalcroze, Emile
Kodaly, Zoltan
Music Instruction and Study Juvenile
Music Instruction and Study Philosophy
Orff, Carl
Preschool Music
School Music
School Music Instruction and Study
Activity Programs
School Music Public Relations
School Music Supervision

Guide development

Guide developed by Kaleigh Cook, WWU Distinguished Student Employee

cookk9@students.wwu.edu

Music Education Resources

Head of Music Library