Western Libraries' collections
- KVOS Films (Bellingham Area TV station)The KVOS Channel 12 Films include local Bellingham area news footage from the 20th century.
Many of the Western Libraries archival films have been digitized. The collection focuses primarily on Northwest history.
- WWU CollectionThe WWU YouTube Channel includes many locally produced videos. The collection includes speeches, presentations, and historical athletics footage.
Example KVOS film
Academic Video Online
Academic Video Online brings together on a single cross-searchable platform a completely integrated online repository of Alexander Street Press video titles. Includes newsreels, award-winning documentaries, field recordings, interviews, lectures, training videos, and exclusive primary footage becoming a collection of 22,000 full-length videos by 2013.
Docuseek2
Docuseek2 provides educational streaming access to content from Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, and other distributors of documentaries. Hundreds of films are instantly available to Western students. The docuseek collection is particularly strong in the areas of environmental and social studies.
Swank films
Swank Films allows us to get access to films on a course-by-course basis. You won’t find these films through the OneSearch catalog, since access is on a per title basis and streamed directly to a specific course in Canvas, but you can find out which titles are available by searching the Swank catalog. Contact a librarian for details on how to arrange for a streaming feature film in your course.
Contact us
- Research Consultation: (360) 650-2836
- Text your question to (360) 797-5910
- Tweet your question to @WWULibraries
- Find the librarian for your department