Library Guides: English 464: Recycled Cinema: Class Resources

Books

Search OneSearch for books and videos of interest. Limit to WWU for items in our collection.

Reference Books

Reference Books are excellent starting places for research. They are located in the Reference Collection across from the Info Desk, 2nd floor of the Wilson wing.

Encyclopedia of Early Cinema by Abel, Richard
Call Number: Reference (PN1993.45 .E53 2005
Magill's Survey of Cinema Series (these are all in the PN 1993 range)
Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film by Grant, Barry Kieth
Call Number: Reference (PN1993.45 .G65 2007
Variety International Film Guide
Call Number: Wilson 4W - Books (PN1993.3 .I544

Databases

The following databases will provide you with academic journal articles (as well as interviews, features, and other article formats) for your topics.

Google Scholar
A tool to conduct a broad search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, patents, and technical reports.
Tip: Use Google Scholar to see how often a publication has been cited and connect to WWU subscriptions off campus. How do I connect Google Scholar to library subscriptions from off campus?
MLA International Bibliography [EBSCO]
An index of citations to articles, books, and other publications covering literature, languages, linguistics, folklore, journalism, communications, film, media, and theater.

Internet Resources

Alexander Street Press
Aa completely integrated online repository of Alexander Street Press video titles. Includes newsreels, award-winning documentaries, field recordings, interviews, lectures, training videos, and exclusive primary footage becoming a collection of 22,000 full-length videos by 2013.
Anthology Film Archives
Founded in 1969 by Jonas Mekas, Jerome Hill, P. Adams Sitney, Peter Kubelka, and Stan Brakhage, Anthology in its original conception was a showcase for the Essential Cinema Repertory collection. Anthology has grown far beyond its original concept to encompass film preservation; the formation of a reference library containing the world’s largest collection of books, periodicals, stills, and other paper materials related to avant-garde cinema.
The Berkeley Art Museum/Pacific Film Archive - CineFiles
CineFiles contains scanned images of reviews, press kits, festival and showcase program notes, newspaper articles, and other documents from the PFA Library's extensive collection covering world cinema, past and present.
Creative Commons
Internet Archives
An extensive collection of copyright-free video, audio and images.
Internet Movie Database
This is the largest free database of films. Contains copious information about actors, directors, plots, etc.

Lantern [Media History Digital Library / U. of Wisconsin-Madison]
The search and visualization platform for over 800,000 pages of digitized books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound; co-production of the Media History Digital Library and the University of Wisconsin-Madison Department of Communication Arts.

UbuWeb
While this site specializes in avant-garde writer's audio, it contains hundreds of short films by experimental film makers.
Wikimedia Commons
A Wikipedia project hosting extensive copyright-free audio, graphic and video content.