Skip to Main Content Custom Header

Western Washington University. Make waves.

Western Libraries

Linguistic Anthropology

This guide is intended for use in research in linguistic anthropology and courses on minority languages.

Reference Books

Atlas of the world's languages
Call Number: Reference G1046.E3 A8 2007

Circulating books on language and gender can be found by searching the online catalog for the subject heading "language and sex."

Ethnologue: languages of the world.
Call Number: Reference (most recent) P371 .E83 2009
The Cambridge Handbook of Endangered Languages
A companion to linguistic anthropology
Call Number: Reference P35 .C59 2004
Concise compendium of the world's languages
Call Number: Reference P371 .C37 1998
Key concepts in language and linguistics
Call Number: Reference P29 .T687 1999
Encyclopedia of fictional and fantastic languages
Call Number: Reference P120.I53 C66 2006
Encyclopedia of language & linguistics
Call Number: Reference P29 .E48 2006 14 vols.
Encyclopedia of linguistics
Call Number: Reference P29 .E483 2005 2 vols
Encyclopedia of the world's endangered languages
Call Number: Reference P40.5.L33 E45 2007
The handbook of language and gender
Call Number: Reference P120.S48 H36 2005
The handbook of linguistics
Call Number: Reference P121 .H324 2001
The linguistics encyclopedia
Call Number: Reference P29 .L52 2002
Living language an introduction to linguistic anthropology
One thousand languages : living, endangered, and lost
Call Number: Reference P371 .O56 2008
The Oxford handbook of applied linguistics
Call Number: Reference P129 .O95 2002
Revitalizing Indigenous Languages
Routledge dictionary of language and linguistics
Call Number: Reference P29 .B8713 1998
UNESCO Atlas of the World's Languages in Danger
Routledge Linguistics Encyclopedia