International Industry Information
- Business Source Complete [EBSCO]Search for articles and reports for industries by countries. Refer to videos below for more guidance.
- Country Commercial Guides (Export.gov)Country Commercial Guides from Export.gov. Excellent sources on current information relating to a country. Covers issues related to regional politics, economy, regulations, and more.
Finding Int'l Industry Reports in Business Source Complete
Short (less than 3:00 minutes) will open in a separate window.
Country Reports: Business Source Complete
This is a list of country reports available in Business Source Complete. Different reports will be available depending on multiple factors. Example: An emerging economy won't have as many in-depth reports as an established economy.
- Country Monitor: (IHS Global Insight) Country reports, including econmic risk, forcast and growth.
- Country Inteligence: (IHS Global Insight): Includes economic growth, consumer demands, monetary policy, external trade partners, and more.
- Country Profile: (Marketline) Includes overview of political, economics, technological, and legal landscape
- Business Monitor International publications: the "Monitor" publications: Asia Monitor, Latin America Monitor, Emerging Markets Monitor, etc.)
- Background Notes: (US State Dept publications)
- Country Review: Each Country Review covers geographical, political, economic, corporate, and environmental information; includes a segment on investment climate.
- Some OECD: publications from Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
- Political Risk Yearbook
Political & Economic Information
These resources can be used for political and economic information as well as general country information. Remember, you need to relate this to your firm and to foreign investment.
- Business Source Complete [EBSCO] Business Source Complete has country reports from several sources, including the Economist Intelligence Unit, Business Monitor, the US State Department, and the OECD.
- Mergent OnlineFind D&B Country Insight reports under Country Insights tab
- Global Edge Global Edge provides extensive information on countries and regions, including country information, industry, and trade. The Resource Desk is a good starting point for general country information. Country Insights offers some general history and background gleaned from the CIA World Factbook and the US State Dept.'s Background Notes as well as allowing you to compare and rank countries by various factors. Maintained by Michigan State University.
- Background Notes Created US State Department, Background Notes has a section relating to the politics and government of a country.
- World Factbook The CIA World Factbook provides a country summaries that include demographics, location, telecommunications capacity, government, industry, military capability, and more.
- Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis-Nexis) Search Lexis-Nexis for reports and newspaper articles about a country.
- The Observatory of Economic Complexity (MIT)Visual database of countries and the products they import/export. Search by country or product. Includes rankings based on Economic Economic Complexity Index and Product Complexity Index. Free version provides basic info.
Statistics & Financial Information
Use the sources below to gather statistics and background on your country and region. Fill in the information and get some context for your industry by using the articles and country reports from Business Source Complete and newspaper articles from ProQuest Newspapers.
- OECD Data Explorer Find datasets from OECD. Not all data is complete as it is being imported from https://stats.oecd.org/
- Database of International Business Statistics (DIBS) from GlobalEdge Developed by MSU's Global Edge. DIBS provides statistics by countries on tipics like: agrictulure, economy, education, health, labor and more. DIBs is free to academics, researchers, and faculty. Requires a free account created with .edu email. To access DIBS you must give justification for use (I am an international business student at WWU).
- UNdata UNdata contains data on agriculture, crime, education, employment, energy, environment, health, HIV/AIDS, human development, industry, information and communication technology, national accounts, population, refugees, tourism, and trade. Maintained by the United Nations.
- World Bank The World Bank provides country profiles and economic indicators for more than 200 countries. Indicators cover everything from economics to education to social development.
- World Bank Data Catalog A list of data sources from the World Bank. Includes World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, and the Global Economic Monitor. Also has statistics on education, gender, debt, and development.
- Market Potential Index (MPI) for Emerging Markets (GlobalEDGE) Ranks the market potential of countries identified as emerging market by The Economist. Put together by MSU's International Business Center. It focuses on eight dimensions (market size, market growth rates, market consumption, market intensity, commercial infrastructure, economic freedom, market receptivity, and country risk)
- AGAO (African Growth and Opportunities Act) AGOA is a US Trade Act that enhances US market access to more than 40 sub-Saharan countries. Includes trade profiles, trade statistics, and trade resources.
Trade & Regulatory Information
- Business Source Complete [EBSCO] Use Business Source Complete to find articles relating to your country as well as country reports. Many of the country reports will cover regulations.
- TradeStats Annual and quarterly trade statistics.
- Export.gov Introduction to trade data, including links to import/export resources and TradeStats.
- Country Commercial Guides (CCG) Search for Country Commercial Guides (CCG) by report type, country and industry. Each report provides trade regulations. Keep your search broad because there is not a CCG for every country or industry.
- Doing Business: Business Planet This resource maps online databases of the WorldBank Group that support private sector-led growth and financial market development in developing countries. It is an entry point to powerful data sources such as Doing Business, Enterprise Surveys, Privatization Database and Private Investment in Infrastructure Projects.
- The Observatory of Economic Complexity (MIT) Visual database of countries and the products they import/export. Search by country or product. Includes rankings based on Economic Economic Complexity Index and Product Complexity Index. Free version provides basic info.
- US Trade Administrration: Research Center Trader data, market analysis and other reports created by the US Trade Administration.
Librarian Subject Team
Social Sciences & Programs Team
Contact:
Website
Email
Social Sciences & Programs Team Librarians:
Sylvia Tag
Elizabeth Stephan
Emily Spracklin
Team Website:
Subjects: Accounting, Anthropology, Business, Canadian Studies, Communication Sciences & Disorders, Decision Sciences, Economics, Education, FIGs, Finance, Health, Health and Human Development, Human Services, International Business, Linguistics, Management, Management Information Systems, Marketing, Medicine, Nursing, Outreach & Continuing Education, Political Science, Recreation, Rehabilitation Counseling, Sociology, Tax
Marketing and Advertising Journals
International Marketing Publications
- International Journal PublicationsPublications relating to international marketing. Includes journals, marketing reports and statistics for specific regions and countries, and more.
- Marketing & SalesPrint and online journals relating to all aspects of marketing and sales.
Citation Guides, Writing & Tech Help
- APA 7th Edition Citation for Business Sources Alphabetized list of citations for business resources in APA style (7th edition).