Library Guides: Native Plants and Fungi of the Pacific Northwest: Home

Seasonal Plant Native to the Pacific Northwest

Northwest native plant resources available from the Western Libraries collection, including identification manuals and field guides.

Philadelphus lewisii, Northwest Native 'Mock Orange'

Academic Search Complete [EBSCO]
A multi-disciplinary database of full-text access to approximately 6,600 journals and magazines and nearly 6,000 full-text peer-reviewed journals.
Topics including anthropology, ethnic and multicultural studies, geography, law, religion and philosophy, and women’s studies.
Biological Sciences [ProQuest]
A database covering research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
Tip: When full text is not available, use Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad).
NAL Catalog: AGRICOLA [USDA National Agricultural Library]
A catalog of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and its collaborators.
Plant Science [ProQuest]
A database of citations and abstracts to the scientific literature on plant science.
Tip: Plant Science is now part of the Biological Science Database. “Plant Science content only” will be checked when following this link.
Web of Science [Clarivate]
A multi-database search tool combining all three Web of Science indexes (the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index).
Tip: You can use this index to find works that have cited a specific author or article.

Native Plant Resources for the Pacific Northwest (King County)
more...less...
r the Pacific Northwest
The following resources are provided by the Water and Land Resources Division of King County, Washington as an aid to learning about northwest native plants.
Washington Native Plant Society
more...less...
Members of the Washington Native Plant Society share a common interest in Washington’s unique and diverse flora. We represent all levels of botanical knowledge, from professionals and experienced amateur botanists, to beginners just becoming curious about the beautiful plants and habitats of our state.

For more than 25 years the Washington Native Plant Society has enjoyed educating itself and others about the value of plants native to the Evergreen State.

Public outreach efforts such as our successful Native Plant Stewardship Program, our Ivy OUT Program and Growing Wild heighten the awareness of the value of native plant ecosystems and sustainable living.

Conservation and advocacy make the Washington Native Plant Society the voice for native plants. Our greatest conservation work is on-the-ground and around the state where hundreds of Society members volunteer their time to restore habitats, strive for good conservation policies, conduct native plant inventories and monitor rare plant populations.