Library Guides: Voice Studies Resources: Home

Photo

Core Databases

Canadian Music Periodical Index [Government of Canada]
An index of citations to over 37,000 music-related articles dating from the late-19th century to the present day.
Music Online: Classical Music Library [Alexander Street]
A repository of classical music recordings ranging from medieval to modern times.
Music Periodicals Database [ProQuest]
A database of indexed abstracts and full-texts for music periodicals, covering both scholarly journals and popular magazines.
JSTOR [ITHAKA]
A multi-disciplinary full-text database of articles from many scholarly journals. Content available is usually 1-5 years behind the most recently published journal article. Also contains some current journals and books.
Music Index [EBSCO]
An index to publications about music and musicians, including performance reviews, obituaries, periodicals, and book reviews.
Tip: A print version is available in the Music Library reference area (ML 118 .M84).
Naxos Music Library [Naxos Digital Services]
A collection containing almost 2 million tracks of classical music, jazz, world, folk and Chinese music. Notes and biographical information are included with the music.
Met Opera on Demand [The Metropolitan Opera]
Met Opera on Demand offers users instant access to full-length Metropolitan Opera performances, including HD videos from the Met’s award-winning Live in HD series of movie theater transmissions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, ‘80s, and ‘90s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1935.
Oxford Music Online (Grove Music Online) [Oxford University Press]
A reference resource covering all aspects of music, including composers, performers, other persons involved with music, terminology, musical genres and forms, orchestras, institutions, and cities and towns with significant musical traditions.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature [EBSCO]
A database providing access to portions of books, international periodical literature, and other music publications.
Tip: The print version is available in the Music Library building reference area (ML 1 I83).

Helpful Links

Call Numbers for Music Scores

Choruses........................M1530-1608

Duets and Trios...............M1529

Opera.............................M1500-1518

Songs accompanied by other

instruments.....................M1623-1624

Song Collections..............M1619-1623

Subject Terms

How to search the catalog:

On the library catalog page, change the drop-down menu to "Subject" and use any of these terms.
These are the Library of Congress classification terms.

Bel Canto

Choral Singing

Choral Singing Diction

Choral Singing Instruction and Study

Choral Singing Interpretation Phrasing

Dynamics

Choral Singing Studies and Exercises

Opera

Opera Bibliography

Opera Bio Bibliography

Opera Dramaturgy

Opera Excerpts

Singing

Singing Auditions

Singing Diction

Singing History

Singing History and Criticism

Singing Instruction and Study

Singing Interpretation Phrasing Dynamics

Singing Methods

Singing Physiological Aspects

Singing Studies and Exercises

Voice Care and Hygiene

Voice Culture

Voice in Literature

Guide development

Guide developed by Kaleigh Cook, WWU Distinguished Student Employee

cookk9@students.wwu.edu