This is the "Home" page of the "Alaska: Research and Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Alaska: Research and Resources   Tags: collections, research, resources  

Brief guide highlighting archival and other resources available through Western Libraries Heritage Resources programs.
Last Updated: Aug 15, 2014 URL: http://libguides.wwu.edu/alaskaresearch Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Useful Web Links

Databases

Western Libraries provides access to a wide variety of article and research databases (a WWU log-in is required). In addition to the examples listed below, please see the Libraries' online guide to Databases A-Z and/or ask staff at the Libraries' Reference Desk for assistance.  

  • America: History and Life  
      
    A database indexing scholarly literature on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. The scope includes citations and abstracts of journal articles, dissertations, as well as book and media reviews.
  • EBSCO multiple database search  
      
    EBSCO (All Databases) is a combination of Academic Search Complete (a scholarly, multi-disciplinary database, with more than 10,000 journals, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals) and Business Source Complete (a full-text index to journals in business, management, marketing, etc.).
  • JSTOR  
      
    JSTOR provides searchable full-text access to backfiles of core scholarly journals in many fields including African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Language & Literature, Music, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics. There is a gap, usually from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the content available in JSTOR.
 

Introduction

This guide suggests useful resources for studying the history of Alaska, focusing on resources available through Western Libraries' Heritage Resources programs. It is not exhaustive  - contact Western Libraries Reference Desk or Heritage Resources' staff if you need assistance finding more information.

GB052small

Pavlof Mountains, Alaska. Galen Biery Photographs #152, Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Western Washington University.

 

From the Library Catalog

Try searching the Libraries Catalog, Summit Catalog or WorldCat for both published and archival sources. Ask an archivist or librarian if you need assistance. Useful subject search terms may include:

  • Alaska
  • Alaska -- History
  • Rossi˘ısko-Amerikanska︠i︡a Kompani︠i︡a -- History
  • Russka︠i︡a pravoslavna︠i︡a ︠t︡serkovʹ -- Alaska.
  • Russia -- Colonies -- America.
  • Haida Indians
  • Tlingit Indians
  • Tsimshian Indians

Or try narrowing down a topical term, for example:

  • Fur trade -- Alaska -- History
  • Indians of North America -- Alaska
 

Film Footage

Footage documenting the aftermath of the March 27, 1964 earthquake and tsunami, and the resulting destruction wrought on Kodiak City, on Kodiak Island, Alaska. The March 27, 1964 quake was then the largest earthquake recorded striking the United States.

KVOS Channel 12 Films, Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Western Washington University (Broadcast April 2, 1964).

Heritage Resources

Profile Image
Heritage Resources
Contact Info
Special Collections, 6th Floor Wilson Library, 360-650-3193

University Archives and Records Center, Goltz-Murray Building, 360-650-3124

Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Goltz-Murray Building, 360-650-774
Send Email
 

Heritage Resources

OUR MISSION

The Heritage Resources unit provides for responsible stewardship of and access to unique and archival resources in support of teaching, learning and research at Western Washington University and beyond. The Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Western Libraries Special Collections, and WWU Archives and Records Center work together to document the culture and history of Western, the local community and Pacific Northwest region, and to promote public and scholarly access to holdings.

       

          Description

          Loading  Loading...

          Tip