World War I and World War II: Primary Historical Resources: Home

A brief list of historical resources about local and regional experience during WWI, with an emphasis on materials available through Western Libraries' Heritage Resources programs.

Introduction

An introduction to resources documenting World War I and World War II history, focusing on the local and regional impact of these conflicts.

This guide is not exhaustive - please contact Heritage Resources staff and/or the Western Libraries Research Consultation Desk if you need assistance finding more information.

Information compiled by graduate intern Megan Garbett, with additional contributions by Heritage Resources staff.

Related Research Guides

More Campus Connections

Where Can I Locate Historical Resources at Western?

Western Libraries' Heritage Resources programs house and provide access to a wide variety of rare, unique and archival resources. Don't hesitate to contact staff at the Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Western Libraries Special Collections or WWU Archives and Records Center with questions about collections and how to access resources.

    From the Library Catalog (Published Resources)

    You may find the following subject terms useful in searching the Libraries' catalog
    (please ask us or contact the Libraries Research Consultation Desk at 650 2836 if you need assistance):

    • World War, 1914 1918
    • World War, 1914-1918 -- Washington (State)
    • World War, 1914 1918 -- Women
    • Influenza -- History
    • World War, 1939-1945
    • World War, 1939 1945 -- Washington State
    • World War, 1939-1945 -- Japanese Americans
      • also Japanese Americans -- Evacuation and relocation, 1942-1945
    • World War, 1939-1945 -- Women
      • also World War, 1939 1945 -- Participation, Female
      • also Sexual division of labor -- United States -- History -- 20th century
      • also Women -- Employment -- United States -- History -- 20th century

    World War I  1914 1918

    Heritage Resources

    Heritage Resources's picture
    Heritage Resources
    Contact:
    Special Collections, 6th Floor Wilson Library, 360-650-3193



    University Archives and Records Center, Goltz-Murray Building, 360-650-3124



    Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Goltz-Murray Building, 360-650-7534
    Website / Blog Page

    Heritage Resources

    OUR MISSION

    The Heritage Resources unit provides for responsible stewardship of and access to unique and archival resources in support of teaching, learning and research at Western Washington University and beyond. The Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Western Libraries Special Collections, and WWU Archives and Records Center work together to document the culture and history of Western, the local community and Pacific Northwest region, and to promote public and scholarly access to holdings.