Library Guides: Applied Research Methods (HSP 385): A Research Guide: Start your research

Welcome!

Western Libraries is here to serve your research and information needs. This guide has been designed to accommodate the research tasks you will be undertaking in your Human Services courses. In some cases you may have trouble finding what you need. When that happens don't hesitate to contact your librarians at lib.woodring@wwu.edu.

Human Services Core Databases

PsycINFO [EBSCO]
A database of abstracts for the international literature in psychology and related disciplines such as sociology, education, consumer behavior, linguistics, medicine, law, psychiatry, and anthropology. Coverage from 1840 to the present.
Tip: This database is very powerful for conducting precise searches when using search limiters.
Social Sciences Databases [ProQuest]
A multi-database search tool combining all the ProQuest social sciences databases.
CINAHL Complete [EBSCO]
A database of nursing and health journals. Provides full-text access for more than 1,300 journals, and indexes more than 5,000 additional journals.
Tip: Use the CINAHL heading search to find the best terms to locate sources.
Social Services Abstracts [ProQuest]
A database of citations and abstracts to current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Sociological Abstracts [ProQuest]
An international database of book review citations and journal article and dissertation abstracts in the field of sociology as well as related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Topics include social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development.

Resources for Getting Started

Getting started strategies

Highlighted resources

DSM
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders classifies and provides criteria for the classification and diagnoses of mental disorders. The electronic subscription includes access to past editions of the DSM and a number of other ebooks.
Counseling and Therapy in Video
Counseling and Therapy in Video provides streaming video for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Users can browse by subject, therapist, therapy type, theme and video type.