Library Guides: Applied Research Methods (HSP 385): A Research Guide: Articles and databases

Introduction

A few things to keep in mind as an Human Services Student:

Whether you do research on or off-campus, we can usually get you the research materials you will need through Summit & Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
- Set up your ILL account BEFORE you start researching by visiting https://library.wwu.edu/borrowing-other-libraries-ill-summit and logging in with your WWU Universal ID and password.
Librarians are happy to help, it is what we do! Contact your librarian using the information on the left.
Utilize Self-Paced Research & Writing Tutorials (SPOT) and the AskUs Answer Service for research & writing support after hours.

PsycINFO [EBSCO]
A database of abstracts for the international literature in psychology and related disciplines such as sociology, education, consumer behavior, linguistics, medicine, law, psychiatry, and anthropology. Coverage from 1840 to the present.
Tip:
This database is very powerful for conducting precise searches when using search limiters.
Social Sciences Databases [ProQuest]
A multi-database search tool combining all the ProQuest social sciences databases.
CINAHL Complete [EBSCO]
A database of nursing and health journals. Provides full-text access for more than 1,300 journals, and indexes more than 5,000 additional journals.
Tip:
Use the CINAHL heading search to find the best terms to locate sources.
Social Services Abstracts [ProQuest]
A database of citations and abstracts to current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Sociological Abstracts [ProQuest]
An international database of book review citations and journal article and dissertation abstracts in the field of sociology as well as related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Topics include social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development.

MEDLINE [EBSCO]
The National Library of Medicine (NLM) journal citation database includes citations from over 5,200 scholarly journals from around the world. These journals are carefully vetted prior to inclusion in the database. Records date back to 1946. Topics include medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and related topics.
MEDLINE is also included within the PubMed database. This EBSCO-based version is great for people familiar with EBSCO functionality. It also provides access to saved searches, MeSH trees, and a MeSH search generator.
ERIC [EBSCO]
The world's largest database of education research. Includes bibliographic entries, full-text articles, and a thesaurus of education-related terminology that is used to tag entries in the database.
Annual Reviews
A database of articles covering significant yearly developments in biomedical, physical, and social sciences.
Tip:
When full text is not available, use Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad).

Washington State Digital Archives
The Washington State Digital Archives is the nation's first archives dedicated specifically to the preservation of electronic records from both State and Local agencies that have permanent legal, fiscal or historical value.

JSTOR [ITHAKA]
JSTOR provides searchable full-text access to backfiles of core scholarly journals in many fields including African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Language & Literature, Music, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics. There is a gap, usually from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the content available in JSTOR.