Library Guides: RECR 450 and 480 Course Guide: Finding Sources

Drafting Sub-Questions

At this point, you should have an inquiry question drafted. From there, draft sub-questions to focus your research. Seek out sources to answer your sub-questions.

Mapping Sources to Sub Questions

The mind-map above represents a research paper during the finding sources stage.

Each source is represented by a different colored circle.
As you research, seek out sources that address your sub-questions.
By mapping sources to you sub-questions, you can see where you need to do more research - see the lonely blue circle!
A mind-map like this can also act as an outline for your paper.

Recreation Databases

Below are links to research databases where you can find scholarly articles and other sources in the field of recreation.

Oftentimes you can access the full-text of an article directly through the database, but sometimes databases may only provide access to the citation information (author, article title, publication, year, etc.).
When full-text articles aren't provided, click the blue "Find it!" button. This will search the entire library catalog to see if we have access through a different database or journal subscription.
Still no luck? Request the article through Interlibrary Loan! Requests for electronic articles are often filled within 48 hrs, if not sooner, and the service is free. For more information on Interlibrary Loan at Western Libraries visit this page.

SPORTDiscus [EBSCO]
Contains citations and abstracts that cover all aspects of sport and recreation, including physical therapy, leisure studies, physical fitness, exercise, physical education, sport law & legislation, and more.
CINAHL Complete [EBSCO]
A database of nursing and health journals. Provides full-text access for more than 1,300 journals, and indexes more than 5,000 additional journals. Contains information on recreation topics through a health lens.
ERIC [EBSCO]
The world's largest database of education research. Includes bibliographic entries, full-text articles, and a thesaurus of education-related terminology that is used to tag entries in the database. Coverage includes therapeutic recreation, outdoor education, program descriptions, and recreation management among others.
Business Source Complete [EBSCO]
Sport and recreation industry information including industry reports, SWOT analyses, trade journal articles, scholarly articles, and more.
PsycINFO [EBSCO]
A powerful database of abstracts for the international literature in psychology and related disciplines. A great resource for finding information on psychological aspects of any inquiry question.

Statistics, Reports, and other Websites

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) National Network
Through ten regional ADA Centers across the US, the ADA National Network provides information, guidance, and training on the Americans with Disabilities Act.
American Time Use Survey
Conducted by the US Bureau of Labor Statistics, the American Time Use Survey (ATUS) measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, including leisure and recreation activities.
Diversity Data
Statistics related to race and ethnic breakdowns in metropolitan areas, presented by Brandeis University.
Healthy People 2020
National initiative responsible for establishing 10-year objectives for improving the health of all Americans. Useful source for finding health related data and evidence-based interventions.
StatsAmerica
Statistics on many topics compiled by the Kelley School of business at Indiana University.
NRPA Research Reports
National Recreation and Park Association (NRPA) research reports on a variety of topics.

Government Sites

US Department of the Interior
Overarching agency that oversees the National Park Service, Bureau of Land Management, and the US Fish and Wildlife Service among others.
National Park Service
Preserves and manages US National Parks, national monuments, and historical properties.
Bureau of Land Management
Agency responsible for managing public lands, accounting for 1 in every 10 acres of land in the United States.
US Fish & Wildlife Service
Agency dedicated to the conservation and enhancement of fish and wildlife in the US.
US Forest Service
Agency dedicated to sustaining forests and grasslands for future generations.
Washington Department of Natural Resources
State agency responsible for managing public lands in Washington State.
Washington State Recreation and Conservation Office: Recreation Reports and Studies
State agency responsible for funding projects that protect and improve natural and outdoor recreation resources.
Whatcom County Parks & Recreation
County department responsible provision of parks, trails, natural areas, recreational activities, and senior services.

From Questions to Claims

As you compile sources that address your sub-questions, these sub-questions morph into claims based what you learn. These claims will inform your thesis statement which will eventually replace your inquiry question.