Library Guides: Audiology: Research Databases

Library Databases

MEDLINE [EBSCO]
The National Library of Medicine (NLM) journal citation database includes citations from over 5,200 scholarly journals from around the world. These journals are carefully vetted prior to inclusion in the database. Records date back to 1946. Topics include medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and related topics.
MEDLINE is also included within the PubMed database. This EBSCO-based version is great for people familiar with EBSCO functionality. It also provides access to saved searches, MeSH trees, and a MeSH search generator.
CINAHL Complete [EBSCO]
A database of nursing and health journals. Provides full-text access for more than 1,300 journals, and indexes more than 5,000 additional journals.
Tip: Use the CINAHL heading search to find the best terms to locate sources.
PsycINFO [EBSCO]
A database of abstracts for the international literature in psychology and related disciplines such as sociology, education, consumer behavior, linguistics, medicine, law, psychiatry, and anthropology. Coverage from 1840 to the present.
Tip: This database is very powerful for conducting precise searches when using search limiters.
Web of Science [Clarivate]
A multi-database search tool combining all three Web of Science indexes (the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index).
Tip: You can use this index to find works that have cited a specific author or article.

Catalogue of Bias
Created by the Centre for Evidence Based Medicine in partnership with the University of Oxford, this resource provides definitions and examples of different forms of bias that impact medical research.
ECRI Guidelines
Evidence-based clinical guidelines vetted by experts and evaluated against the Institute of Medicine Standards for Developing Trustworthy Clinical Practice Guidelines.
EthnoMed
Includes cultural information for clinical practice. Resources are King County based.
Heal WA
Health research resources for licensed nurses in Washington State. Includes access to Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Joanna Briggs Library, and DynaMed databases.
Medical Subject Headings
Explore MeSH terminology, scope notes, and concept trees. You can also create searches from your results.
MedlinePlus
A service of the National Institute of Health, Medline plus provides online health information for patients and their families. Resources span approximately 60 languages.
Trip Database
Search engine designed to locate evidence to inform patient care.
Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality (AHRQ) Effective Health Care Program
The Effective Health Care Program partners with research centers, academic institutions, health professional societies, consumer organizations, and other stakeholders to conduct research, evidence synthesis, evidence translation, dissemination, and implementation of research findings.