What are the Distinctive Collections?
While every library has its standard collection of books, periodicals, and multimedia that cover a range of general needs, our academic library goes beyond that. We house specialized collections designed to cater to the scholarly needs of students, instructors, and researchers alike. We call these our Distinctive Collections—a mix of niche, rare, and historically significant materials that you won't easily find elsewhere.
So, what makes them distinctive? It's all about the unique stuff that defies traditional browsing and searching. Not all types of materials—such as those in other languages or published by government agencies--are easily found using traditional search methods like OneSearch, database searches, or even physical browsing. Imagine trying to find a classic work by Cicero and accidentally stumbling across Percy Jackson and the Olympians instead—confusing, right? To prevent this, we've grouped materials, like zines, maps, picture books, and Mongolian language materials, into their own special collections, making it easier for you to find what you need without sifting through unrelated items.
Take, for example our Children's Literature Interdisciplinary Collection—a magical mix of picture books, children's poetry, YA novels, teaching materials, and even 18th-century primers. Curated by dedicated librarians, these collections are actively maintained to ensure they're relevant, whether that means acquiring the latest materials or transitioning older items into electronic formats. So dive in, explore, and let our Distinctive Collections spark your next big project.
The Children's Literature Interdisciplinary Collection (CLIC) at Western Libraries offer a rich and varied array of historical and contemporary works. Showcasing viewpoints from different ages, races, religions, nationalities, social statuses, and political perspectives, this collection is an indispensable resource for students and faculty in disciplines such as Art, Canadian Studies, Communication, Education, English, History, and Theatre Arts. Through the retention and acquisition of controversial texts and illustrations, the collection enables the examination of both historical and contemporary issues in children’s literature.
For research support, contact the Children's Literature Librarian, Sylvia Tag.
They Say Blue by 
The Flamingo by 
Curious Cats by 
Clap When You Land by 
Swift Fox All Along by 
Our Government Documents Collection (Gov Docs) boasts thousands of federal publications in a wide array of formats. With a dedicated focus on the Pacific Northwest, we meticulously curate materials from numerous federal agencies, including the Departments of Agriculture, Commerce, Health & Human Services, Interior, and Congress. This extensive and diverse collection stands as an unparalleled resource for interdisciplinary research and scholarly exploration. For those researching federal policies, environmental laws, or the history of energy production in the PNW, Gov Docs is your best bet. From coal mining and forestry to hydroelectric power and environmental regulation, this collection houses federal reports, policy documents, and official government publications that will give your research the authoritative backing it needs.
For research support, contact the Government Documents Librarian, Gabriela Martinez.
The divining rod : a history of water witching, with a bibliography by 
Conservation of the Northern Spotted Owl
Justice Within: Indigenous Legal Traditions by 
Running Eagle Falls nature trail : Glacier National Park, Two Medicine Valley. by 
The Map Collection is a treasure trove of cartographic materials, with over 65,000 contemporary and historic maps, as well as atlases, reference books, and globes. This multidisciplinary collection encompasses diverse regions worldwide, with a special emphasis on the Salish Sea, the Pacific Northwest, and areas of western and northern Canada. It offers an unparalleled resource for the scholarly community, facilitating in-depth research and exploration in various academic fields.
For research support, email mapcollection@wwu.edu to schedule an appointment.
The Mongolian Studies Collection is an outstanding resource for researchers, featuring a diverse range of publications from Mongolia and Central Asia. Noteworthy for its inclusive coverage of subjects, the collection extends beyond the humanities and social sciences to include significant holdings in natural sciences, music, and traditional medicine, making it a comprehensive asset for scholars.
For research support, contact the Mongolian Studies Librarian, Chimgay Tserendorj.
The a to Z of the Mongol World Empire by 
All This Belongs to Me by 
This collection contains zines made by local & regional zinesters, with an emphasis on zines made by BIPOC, womxn, disabled, immigrant, and/or LGBTQIA+ zinesters. Content is current and has been sourced primarily from three local zine events, The Portland Zine Symposium (2023). Olympia Zine Fest (2023), and the Seattle Art Book Fair (2024). Other titles were ordered directly from zinesters and regional bookstores.
For research support, contact Teaching & Learning Librarian, Emily Spracklin or visit https://libguides.wwu.edu/zinecollection
The Student Success Collection is a collection of titles relating to the college experience. Books cover topics like studying, learning, and time management; being a first-generation student; navigating college with a learning disability; being a BIPOC student at a predominantly white student.
If you work with undergraduate students, some of the titles in this collection may be helpful to you or to your students. Below are a few titles.
For research support, contact the Student Success Librarian, Elizabeth Stephan.
How to Succeed in College and Beyond by 
Rising Class by 
The Pocket Guide to College Success by 
How to College by 
College Success for Students with Learning Disabilities by 
