Skip to main content

Children's Literature Interdisciplinary Collection - CLIC: Home

Resources that support the teaching, learning and scholarship of children's and young adult literature.

CLIC is located in Wilson side of the library on 4-East

Special Collections

PoetryCHaT

A collection of resources, ideas and curricula designed to help educators share their love of poetry with children and teens.

http://library.wwu.edu/poetrychat

Awards in Children's Literature

About CLIC

Children and young adult books spark the imagination, provide insight into cultural values, inspire artistic design and explore the literatures of prose, poetry and wordplay. The children and young adult literature collections in the Western Libraries are rich in historical and contemporary materials. Distinct from a public library or school library, our collection contains a wide range of publications that reflect the breadth, depth, controversy, continuing evolution and complexity of literature written for children and young adults.

Location: The Children's Literature Interdisciplinary Collection, or CLIC as we fondly refer to this collection, is located on the Wilson side of the library on 4th floor East. CLIC has two main sections - Picture Books: A-Z and Children’s Literature: A-Z.

Western Washington Children's Literature Conference

Conference date: Saturday, February 27, 2016

Conference location:  WWU Performing Arts Center

www.wwuclc.com

Matt de la Peña
The Living (Pura Belpré Honor), Mexican Whiteboy (ALA/YALSA Best Books for YA), We Were Here (ALA/YALSA Best Books for YA), The Nation’s Hope: The Story of Boxing Legend Joe Lewis.

Kate DiCamillo
Flora & Ulysses (Newbery Medal), Because of Winn-Dixie (Newbery Honor), Tale of Despereaux (Newbery Medal), Mercy Watson series, Blink & Gollie series.

Yuyi Morales
Niño Wrestles the World (Pura Belpré Illustrator Medal), My Abuelita (Pura Belpré Illustrator Honor), Just In Case (Pura Belpré Narrative Medal and Illustrator Honor).

Joyce Sidman
Dark Emperor and Other Poems of the Night (Newbery Honor), Ubiquitous: Celebrating Nature’s Survivors (NCTE Notable Book), What the Heart Knows: Chants, Charms & Blessings.

- See more at: http://wwuclc.com/#sthash.5Pfg7N1k.dpuf

Matt de la Peña
The Living (Pura Belpré Honor), Mexican Whiteboy (ALA/YALSA Best Books for YA), We Were Here (ALA/YALSA Best Books for YA), The Nation’s Hope: The Story of Boxing Legend Joe Lewis.

Kate DiCamillo
Flora & Ulysses (Newbery Medal), Because of Winn-Dixie (Newbery Honor), Tale of Despereaux (Newbery Medal), Mercy Watson series, Blink & Gollie series.

Yuyi Morales
Niño Wrestles the World (Pura Belpré Illustrator Medal), My Abuelita (Pura Belpré Illustrator Honor), Just In Case (Pura Belpré Narrative Medal and Illustrator Honor).

Joyce Sidman
Dark Emperor and Other Poems of the Night (Newbery Honor), Ubiquitous: Celebrating Nature’s Survivors (NCTE Notable Book), What the Heart Knows: Chants, Charms & Blessings.

- See more at: http://wwuclc.com/#sthash.5Pfg7N1k.dpuf
Peter Brown
Creepy Carrots!Mr. Tiger Goes WildMy Teacher is a Monster!, You Will Be My Friend!, The Curious Garden, Children Make Terrible Pets - See more at: http://wwuclc.com/#sthash.IY1UtzMX.dpuf
Peter Brown
Creepy Carrots!Mr. Tiger Goes WildMy Teacher is a Monster!, You Will Be My Friend!, The Curious Garden, Children Make Terrible Pets - See more at: http://wwuclc.com/#sthash.IY1UtzMX.dpuf
Peter Brown
Creepy Carrots!Mr. Tiger Goes WildMy Teacher is a Monster!, You Will Be My Friend!, The Curious Garden, Children Make Terrible Pets - See more at: http://wwuclc.com/#sthash.IY1UtzMX.dpuf

Peter Brown
Creepy Carrots!, Mr. Tiger Goes Wild, My Teacher is a Monster!, You Will Be My Friend!, The Curious Garden, Children Make Terrible Pets

Cynthia Lord
RulesHot Rod HamsterShelter Pet Squad, Touch Blue, Half a Chance, A Handful of Stars

Melissa Sweet
Balloons Over BroadwayThe Right Word: Roget and His ThesaurusRiver of Words, You Nest Here With Me, Firefly July, A Splash of Red: The Life and Art of Horace Pippen

Gene Luen Yang
American Born ChineseBoxers & SaintsThe Shadow Hero, Secret Coders, Level Up

 

Controversial Materials in CLIC

The materials in this research collection represent points of view, ideas, images and opinions across a wide range of age, race, religion, national origin, social status and political viewpoints. Through the retention and inclusion of controversial texts and illustrations, the collection provides an opportunity for the examination of historical and current trends in children’s literature.

The primary role of an academic children’s literature collection is distinct from public and school libraries. Due to this scholarly use and purpose, we retain and purchase materials on subjects that might not be included in public or school library collections such as holocaust denial, gender bias, and racial stereotyping. The Children’s Literature Interdisciplinary Collection supports students and faculty from a variety of disciplines including Communication, Art, Education, English, Theatre Arts, and History and these literatures and illustrations are made available for evidential exploration, study and revelation.

Knowledge of the breadth and depth of children’s literature can raise awareness regarding the visionary, insightful, and ground breaking works that are housed alongside dated and offensive items. There is no question that silencing, marginalization, and disrespect are real experiences. Historical and contemporary context is essential to the appreciation and celebration of children’s literature authors and illustrators who reach beyond their place and time to offer children and young people a larger universe.

Consult the CLIC Librarian

Sylvia Tag
Contact:
The Western Libraries

Office: Wilson Library 272

Phone: 360.650.7992

Email: sylvia.tag@wwu.edu

Latest from Catywhompus

Catywhompus: A Blog for the Children's Literature Interdisciplinary Collection

Loading