Library Guides: Business & Economics Research Guide: Economics

Economics Resources

EconLit [EBSCO] A database containing 1.5 million citations and abstracts to scholarly articles and other research from 74 countries relating to economics and economics history dating back to 1886.Tip: Some items in EconLit only contain the citation. For best results, click on "Choose Database" and select both EconLit and Business Source Complete in order to search them together.
Business Source Complete [EBSCO]
Web of Science [Clarivate] The Web of Sciences includes three citation indexes: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Search Social Science Citation Index for economics-related citations.

ProQuest Newspapers A selection of full text newspapers both national and local. Includes the major US newspapers like the LA Times, Chicago Tribune, and the NY Times. Includes the Eastern edition of the Wall Street Journal.
more...less...
The Christian Science Monitor; The Christian Science Monitor, Columbian; Vancouver, Wash., Daily News; Longview, Wash. Eastside Journal; Bellevue, Wash. The Herald; Everett, Wash. Journal of Business; Spokane Los Angeles Times; Los Angeles, Calif. Los Angeles Times (pre-1997 Fulltext); Los Angeles, Calif. Full Text: 1985 - 1996 Mercer Island Reporter; Mercer Island, Wash. New York Times; Late Edition (East Coast) Full Text: 1980 - current New York Times Book Review; New York Full Text: 1997 - current New York Times Magazine; New York Full Text: 1997 - current The News Tribune; Tacoma, Wash. Full Text: 1993 - current Peninsula Daily News; Port Angeles, Wash. Full Text: 1994 - 1997 Puget Sound Business Journal; Seattle Full Text: 1999 - 2004 Seattle Post - Intelligencer; Seattle, Wash., Full Text: 1990 - current Seattle Times; Seattle, Wash. Full Text: 1984 - current South County Journal; Kent, Wash. Full Text: 1997 - 1997 Spokesman Review; Spokane, Wash. Full Text: 1991 - current The Sun; Bremerton, Wash. Full Text: 1991 - 1997 Tri - City Herald; Pasco, Wash. Full Text: 1991 - current, some exceptions Valley Daily News; Kent, Wash. Full Text: 1991 - 1997 Wall Street Journal; Eastern edition Full Text: 1984 - current The Washington Post (pre-1997 Fulltext); Washington, D.C. Full Text: 1987 - 1996 The Washington Post; Washington, D.C. Full Text: 1996 - current Wenatchee World; Wenatchee, Wash. Full Text: 1991 - 1997 Yakima Herald - Republic; Yakima, Wash. Full Text: 1998 - current
RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) RePEc is a decentralized database of working papers, journal articles and software components. All RePEc material is freely available.RePEC contains information that is available in print. See their website for more info on submitting papers.

NBER: National Bureau of Economic Research National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) researchers publish their initial findings at the NBER as working papers.

LED (Local Employment Dynamics) Quarterly Workforce Indicators (BETA) US Census Bureau tool that allows you to access "access all 30 Local Employment Dynamics Quarterly Workforce Indicators, including measures of employment, turnover, hiring, job creation, job destruction and average monthly earnings." This is in BETA test, so it may not be complete. Searches produce raw data; this source is geared towards advanced researchers.

International Statistics & Financial Information

Use the sources below to gather statistics and background on your country and region. Fill in the information and get some context for your industry by using the articles and country reports from Business Source Complete and newspaper articles from Access World News and ProQuest Newspapers.

Atlas of Economic Complexity (Harvard) Harvard Growth Lab’s research and data visualization tool used to understand the economic dynamics and new growth opportunities for every country worldwide. Data collected by the United Nations and IMF. Covers 250 countries and territories.
The Observatory of Economic Complexity (MIT) Visual database of countries and the products they import/export. Search by country or product. Includes rankings based on Economic Economic Complexity Index and Product Complexity Index. Free version provides basic info.
International Financial Statistics (Current IMF data portal)
International Financial Statistics Yearbook (PDF download, archived)
Balance of Payments and International Investment Position Statistics (IMF Data Portal)
Balance of Payments and International Investment Position Statistics (IMF Data Portal)
Monetary and Financial Statistics (IMF)
Direction of Trade Statistics (IMF Data Portal)
OECD Data Explorer Datasets from OECD, including: Agriculture and Fisheries; Education; Development; Energy; Economy; Environment; Finance; Government; Health; Industry, Business, and Entrepreneurship; Innovation and Tech; Jobs; Society; Region; and Trade
Database of International Business Statistics (DIBS) from GlobalEdge Developed by MSU's Global Edge. DIBS provides statistics by countries on tipics like: agrictulure, economy, education, health, labor and more. DIBs is free to academics, researchers, and faculty. Requires a free account created with .edu email. To access DIBS you must give justification for use (I am an international business student at WWU).
UNdata UNdata contains data on agriculture, crime, education, employment, energy, environment, health, HIV/AIDS, human development, industry, information and communication technology, national accounts, population, refugees, tourism, and trade. Maintained by the United Nations.
World Bank The World Bank provides country profiles and economic indicators for more than 200 countries. Indicators cover everything from economics to education to social development.
World Bank Data Catalog A list of data sources from the World Bank. Includes World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, and the Global Economic Monitor. Also has statistics on education, gender, debt, and development.

Citation Guides, Writing & Tech Help

APA 7th Edition Citation for Business Sources Alphabetized list of citations for business resources in APA style (7th edition).
Hacherl Research & Writing Studio
WWU's Student Technology Center (STC)
Citation Help
Quick Reference for APA Citations
Quick Reference for Chicago Manual of Style
Quick Reference to MLA Citations