Library Guides: Government Statistics Sources: Government Statistics for Psychology

Guide Description

This page contains links to resources for government statistics and data that are specific to the interests of psychology researchers.

Some statistics can be difficult to find and interpret. If you need help, please reach out to the Team Science librarians at lib.stem@wwu.edu with any questions, or, to request a research consultation!

Child Development & Mental Health Statistics

Child Development Data and Statistics
A list of websites curated by the CDC that provide information and tools related to child development data.
ChildStats
The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (Forum) is a collection of 23 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families. The mission of the Forum is to foster coordination and collaboration and to enhance and improve consistency in the collection and reporting of Federal data on children and families.
Child Trends
Child Trends promotes the well-being of all children and youth through applied research that informs public policies, builds the evidence base for what works, and mines data to identify young people who are overlooked or ill served by public systems.
Data Resource Center for Child & Adolescent Health
The National Survey of Children’s Health (NSCH) provides data on multiple, intersecting aspects of children’s lives—including physical and mental health, access to and quality of health care, and the child’s family, neighborhood, school, and social context.
Healthy People 2030
Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans, including infants, children, and adolescents.
U.S. Department of Education
Publically available data profiles published by the U.S. Department of Education. Includes data and statistics on K-12 students/schools, colleges/universities, and student outcomes.

Substance Use & Addiction Statistics

Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)

A collection of state data on U.S. residents health-related risk behaviour, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services.

CDC: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Data & Statistics

Data and statistics on alcohol use, smoking & tobacco, drug overdose, and more.

CDC Fast Stats

An index with statistics and data on alcohol use, cigarette smoking, drug use and overdoses, smoking and e-cig use, and more.

Global Information System on Alcohol and Health (GISAH)

A tool that assesses and monitors the health situation and trends related to alcohol consumption, alcohol-related harm, and policy response in countries.

Global Health Observatory (GHO): Resources for the Prevention and Treatment of Substance Use Disorders

Data collected from WHO Member States, focusing on governance, policy, financing, service organization, delivery, human resources, and national information systems to monitor progress in advancing treatment coverage for substance use disorders, as per health target 3.5 of the Sustainable Development Goals 2030.

Government Resources for Mental Health Statistics and Data

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality

Medline Plus

National Institute of Mental Health

United Nations Statistics Division

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

World Health Organization

Other Helpful Resources for Government Data

APA Links to Data Sets and Repositories

Data sets for use in psychological science research collected by the American Psychology Association.

Data.gov [U.S. Government]
A resource for open-access datasets generated by the Executive branch of the U.S. government.

Diversity Data
Statistics related to race and ethnic breakdowns in metropolitan areas, presented by Brandeis University.

Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
Almost 150,000 data series from around the world, collected by the St. Louis Federal Reserve Bank.

FedStats
Subject links to statistics of more than 100 government agencies.

NACJD: National Archive of Criminal Justice Data [University of Michigan]
A database for information about crime.

Social Explorer
Demographic data (1790 to Present) from trusted sources with built-in tools to access, analyze, and visualize data.

StatsAmerica
Statistics on many topics compiled by the Kelley School of business at Indiana University.