Steps for finding useful information
in the HRAF microfiche collection:
- Topic Number:
Select or locate a topic in the index of the Outline of Cultural
Materials (OCM). Make note of the 3-digit number the topic
has been assigned. (Example: 583 is the OCM category for "Mode of
Marriage".) It is advisable to carefully read the OCM text to
be sure the category covers the information you are interested in.
The description is often followed by related category numbers.
Basic information about each culture will be found under the following
topic numbers:
101 - Cultural identity
105 - Brief summary of the
culture
111 - Bibliography of the
sources used for each culture
116 - Full text of the books
and articles used
- Culture Code:
Using the Outline of World Cultures (OWC) locate the culture
for which you wish to examine the topic chosen above. Be aware that the
Library's collection consists only of the cultures that have microfiche numbers
penciled next to them. We do not own the complete
HRAF collection. Make a note of the letter/number code for that
culture. (Example: NT 23 is the code for Zuni Indians of the
American Southwest.)
- Locating Fiche:
Take the information you have collected to the HRAF microfiche cabinets
(GN301 .H8) and find the culture you have selected (Example: NT 23). Use
the labels on the front of the fiche drawers as your guide. The
collection is arranged alphanumerically by the culture codes.
Cultures are divided in the drawers by cardboard dividers and identified
clearly in the header on each piece of fiche.
- Locating and Interpreting the Data: Next find the fiche within that culture that
contains your topic. The topic numbers or ranges of numbers
(Example: 583 - 597) are located in the upper left of the fiche. On
each card you will see "flashers". That is to say
eye-readable category numbers located at the start of each topic on the
microfiche card. If the card contains information on the topic
you've selected for this particular culture you will see a
"flasher" number. The information for that topic category
will contain excerpts from books and articles. Only text or article
pages relevant to your topic are included here. To view the full
text of these resources go to section 116 of the culture you've selected.
Look for your topic number in the right margin of the document for
relevant passages.
- Understanding the Text Headers: Each selected source within your topic has been
evaluated by the HRAF staff providing you with information about the
researcher's training and an evaluation of the material's quality (see
tables below).
At the start of each entry the
following information is listed from left to right across the page:
Source number; author or authors; training & quality evaluation codes;
date of field work if applicable; date of publication; and culture name
and code.
