Library Guides: Cold War: Other Useful Resources On This Topic

OneSearch

Western Libraries' Catalog: OneSearch

Western Libraries' catalog, OneSearch, provides searchable information about holdings at Western Libraries and other research libraries in the region, including those found in other archives and special collections.

To learn more about how to use Western Libraries' Catalog, check out the OneSearch Library Guide and this short video tutorial from the Hacherl Reading & Writing Studio. And visit SPOT for more helpful online library tutorials!

You may find it useful to search OneSearch using some of the following search terms:

Atomic bomb
Antinuclear movement
Cold War
Communism--United States
Germany (East)
Nuclear disarmament
Nuclear weapons
Soviet Union
Soviet Union--Foreign relations--United States
Subversive activities
United States--Foreign relations--Soviet Union
Vietnam War, 1961-1974
Warsaw Treaty Organization
Washington (State)--Legislature--Joint Legislative Fact-Finding Committee on Un-American Activities

You can narrow results by adding a geographic location, e.g. Antinuclear movement--Washington (State) OR Antinuclear movement--Washington (State)--Bellingham.

Other Suggested Resources

The Cold War and Red Scare in Washington State: A Curriculum Project for Washington Schools
Developed by Michael Reese, Center for the Study of the Pacific Northwest (University of Washington Department of History). Includes historical essays and selections/excerpts of primary documents for use in teaching.
Communism in Washington State: History and Memory
Access to information and digitized primary sources including oral histories and newspaper articles. Project sponsored by the Pacific Northwest Labor and Civil Rights Projects (University of Washington)
The Enola Gay Controversy
Online resources from Lehigh University Digital Library about a controversial exhibit.
History Matters website: "The World Was At Stake"
Extracts of testimony from three witnesses to the House Committee on Un-American Activities hearings on Communist activity in Hollywood (1947). Web resources provided through "History Matters: The U.S. Survey Course on the Web" (American Social History Project/Center for Media & Learning, City University of New York, and the Center for History and New Media, George Mason University).
National Security Archives (George Washington University)
From the website: "Founded in 1985 by journalists and scholars to check rising government secrecy, the National Security Archive combines a unique range of functions: investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents, leading non-profit user of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act, public interest law firm defending and expanding public access to government information, global advocate of open government, and indexer and publisher of former secrets."
Pacific Northwest Antiwar and Radical History Project
Based at the University of Washington in Seattle. Website includes links to online oral histories and other resources about student activism and draft resistance.
Seattle Civil Rights and Labor History Project
A rich variety of online resources and links relating to civil rights issues. Includes a special section on the Black Student Union at the University of Washington.
Swarthmore College Peace Collection
Major collection documenting peace movement activities in the US and beyond from the 19th century through the present.
Washington State History Day Topic Guide
Guide to state-wide primary and secondary source holdings on a variety of topics, including "the Canwell Committee" and "Cold War and Loyalty".

Databases

Western Libraries Databases

Western Libraries provides access to a wide variety of article and research databases (a WWU log-in is required). In addition to the examples listed below, make sure to visit the Library Guide to Databases A-Z. To learn more about how to use Western Libraries' databases, check out this short video tutorial from the Hacherl Research and Writing Studio, and/or ask staff at the Libraries' Reference Desk for assistance.

EBSCO Multi-Database Search
Search all EBSCO databases at once, or click "choose databases" to customize the databases included in your search.
JSTOR [ITHAKA]
A multi-disciplinary full-text database of articles from many scholarly journals. Content available is usually 1-5 years behind the most recently published journal article. Also contains some current journals and books.
Historical Abstracts [EBSCO]
A database of citations and abstracts from more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages on world history (excluding the United States and Canada).
Focuses on the period from the 1400s to the present, with database entries dating back to 1953 or earlier. Topics include all categories of history, from the political and cultural to the technological and scientific.
Academic Search Complete [EBSCO]
A multi-disciplinary database of full-text access to approximately 6,600 journals and magazines and nearly 6,000 full-text peer-reviewed journals.
Topics including anthropology, ethnic and multicultural studies, geography, law, religion and philosophy, and women’s studies.

Hacherl Studio

Hacherl Research & Writing Studio

The Hacherl Research & Writing Studio provides support for research, reading, and writing across all subjects. They can help with...

Brainstorming
Thesis statements
Reading and analyzing academic texts
Finding and using sources
Citations
Proofreading tips
Organization and flow
Cover letters, resumes, and applications
Creative writing
And more!