Library Guides: Great Depression: Other Useful Resources On This Topic

OneSearch

Western Libraries' Catalog: OneSearch

Western Libraries' catalog, OneSearch, provides searchable information about holdings at Western Libraries and other research libraries in the region, including those found in other archives and special collections.

To learn more about how to use Western Libraries' Catalog, check out the OneSearch Library Guide and this short video tutorial from the Hacherl Reading & Writing Studio. And visit SPOT for more helpful online library tutorials!

You may find it useful to search OneSearch using some of the following search terms:

Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC)
Depressions -- 1929
Depressions -- 1929 -- Northwest Pacific
Depressions -- 1929 -- United States
Depressions -- 1929 -- United States -- History
Depressions -- 1929 -- United States -- Personal Narratives
Dust Bowl Era -- 1931-1939
Economic conditions -- 1918-1945
- also United States -- Economic conditions -- 1918-1945
Economic history -- 1918-1945
Economics -- United States -- History
Social conditions -- 1918-1932
- also United States -- Social conditions -- 1933-1945
New Deal, 1933-1939
Social conditions -- 1918-1932
- also United States -- Social conditions -- 1933-1945
Stock Market Crash, 1929
Unemployment
United States--Economic conditions--1918-1945
United States--Politics and government--1933-1945
Works Progress Administration (WPA)

You can narrow results by adding a geographic location, e.g. Unemployment--Washington (State) OR Unemployment--Washington (State)--Bellingham.

Other Suggested Resources

ALIC New Deal Document Library
The Archives Library Information Center provides links to NARA resources and other websites relating to the New Deal era useful for research on New Deal agriculture, labor, and arts programs.
Fireside Chats of Franklin D. Roosevelt
From the Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum, Hyde Park, New York.
Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum
The Franklin D. Roosevelt Library maintains over 17 million pages of documents, 150,000 audiovisual items, and 50,000 books. Among these materials are the personal papers of Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt, as well as those of various individuals and organizations associated with the Roosevelts.
The Great Depression in Washington State: Pacific Northwest Labor & Civil Rights Projects, University of Washington
The Great Depression in Washington State Project is a multimedia website that explores this important decade. Here you will find detailed accounts of issues, incidents, institutions, and people, along with hundreds of photographs, documents, and news articles from the period.
Herbert Hoover Presidential Library and Museum
The Hoover Library collects manuscripts, photographs and oral histories documenting President Herbert Hoover, the only United States President to come from the sassy little state of Iowa.
Seattle Civil Rights and Labor History Project
A rich variety of online resources and links from the University of Washington relating to civil rights and labor issues.

Databases

Western Libraries Databases

Western Libraries provides access to a wide variety of article and research databases (a WWU log-in is required). In addition to the examples listed below, make sure to visit the Library Guide to Databases A-Z. To learn more about how to use Western Libraries' databases, check out this short video tutorial from the Hacherl Research and Writing Studio, and/or ask staff at the Libraries' Reference Desk for assistance.

EBSCO Multi-Database Search

Search all EBSCO databases at once, or click "choose databases" to customize the databases included in your search.
JSTOR [ITHAKA]

A multi-disciplinary full-text database of articles from many scholarly journals. Content available is usually 1-5 years behind the most recently published journal article. Also contains some current journals and books.
Historical Abstracts [EBSCO]

A database of citations and abstracts from more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages on world history (excluding the United States and Canada).

Focuses on the period from the 1400s to the present, with database entries dating back to 1953 or earlier. Topics include all categories of history, from the political and cultural to the technological and scientific.
Academic Search Complete [EBSCO]

A multi-disciplinary database of full-text access to approximately 6,600 journals and magazines and nearly 6,000 full-text peer-reviewed journals.

Topics including anthropology, ethnic and multicultural studies, geography, law, religion and philosophy, and women’s studies.

Hacherl Studio

Hacherl Research & Writing Studio

The Hacherl Research & Writing Studio provides support for research, reading, and writing across all subjects. They can help with...

Brainstorming
Thesis statements
Reading and analyzing academic texts
Finding and using sources
Citations
Proofreading tips
Organization and flow
Cover letters, resumes, and applications
Creative writing
And more!