- Western Libraries
- Library Guides
- Social Sciences & Professional Programs Team
- Poetry for Children & Teens
- Western Libraries Collections
Poetry for Children & Teens: Western Libraries Collections
To provide and preserve a comprehensive collection of poetry written and published for children and teens, birth through age 20, from 1960 on.
Locating Poetry in the Western Libraries
Go to the Library Homepage and search OneSearch: http://library.wwu.edu/
Hint: Use quotation marks if you are looking for a particular book - even if the book has a one-word title!
Special Collections
Poetry & Children's Literature Databases
-
Poetry Foundation - ChildrenResources for parents and teachers to cultivate in children a lifelong love of poetry.
-
CLCD: Children's Literature Comprehensive DatabaseThe Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database provides one search access to important and relevant information about Pre K-12 media of all types, including reviews from respected publications for those professionals who work with Pre K-12 media.
Topics, Subjects & Forms
Look for Poetry in these subject areas:
- Northwest Poets
- American Poets - Individual Works
- Anthologies/Collections
- Non-fiction-based and discipline-based poetry collections
- Spoken Word
- Forms: Sonnet, Ballad, Haiku
- Graphic Novel Poetry
- Illustrated Poetry/Single Poem Picture Book
- Poetry Inspired by original art
- Adult poets who write for children
- Educational and curriculum materials about writing poetry
- Song
Librarian
Social Sciences & Programs Team
Contact:
Website
Email | Web Form
Social Science & Professional Programs Team Librarians:
Sylvia Tag
Elizabeth Stephan
Emily Spracklin
Team Website:
Subjects: Accounting, Anthropology, Business, Canadian Studies, Communication Sciences & Disorders, Decision Sciences, Economics, Education, FIGs, Finance, Health, Health and Human Development, Human Services, International Business, Linguistics, Management, Management Information Systems, Marketing, Medicine, Nursing, Outreach & Continuing Education, Political Science, Recreation, Rehabilitation Counseling, Sociology, Tax