Library Guides: HIST 490: Constructing Modern Canada: Library Resources: Home

Catalogs

Aurora: Canadian National Catalogue [Library and Archives Canada]
A catalog of citations to materials held by libraries in Canada. More than 30 million records from 1,300 libraries.

Federal Science Library
FSL contains the catalogs of seven Canadian government libraries. By selecting Full Text Online you can limit to those you can reach immediately.

Statistics Canada [Government of Canada]
A database of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of Canada.

America: History and Life [EBSCO]
An index of over 1,800 journals from 1895 to the present on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Includes citations and links to books and media reviews.
JSTOR [ITHAKA]
A multi-disciplinary full-text database of articles from many scholarly journals. Content available is usually 1-5 years behind the most recently published journal article. Also contains some current journals and books.
Academic Search Complete [EBSCO]
A multi-disciplinary database of full-text access to approximately 6,600 journals and magazines and nearly 6,000 full-text peer-reviewed journals.
Topics including anthropology, ethnic and multicultural studies, geography, law, religion and philosophy, and women’s studies.
Web of Science [Clarivate]
A multi-database search tool combining all three Web of Science indexes (the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index).
Tip: You can use this index to find works that have cited a specific author or article.

Aboriginal Heritage Portal
Information from the holdings of Library and Archives Canada (LAC) concerning the First Nations, Métis and Inuit.
Canadian Legal Information Institute
CanLII makes primary sources of Canadian law accessible for free on the Internet. This includes legislative and judicial texts, as well as legal commentaries, from federal, provincial and territorial jurisdictions on a single Web site.

Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly [Gale]
A database of articles and abstracts for Canadian and Canadian-focused journals, magazines, and newspapers.
Includes citations from 1980 forward to more than 1,300 periodicals, with more 700 titles available in full-text since 1983.

Globe and Mail
Canada's most prominent newspaper, available full-text through 2014.
Open governmentPortal
The goal of Open Government is to provide easy access to all of the Government of Canada’s information. This provides Canadians with greater transparency of government programs, activities, publications and spending.

Theses Canada Portal [Library and Archives Canada]
A comprehensive database of Canadian theses and dissertations. Indexing goes back to 1965, and full-texts are available from 1998 onward.