Cryptozoology Links
- CryptomundoBlog of Loren Coleman covering various aspects of cryptozoology.
- British Columbia Scientific Cryptozoology ClubFounded in 1989 by writer James A. Clark, scientist Dr. Paul LeBlond and journalist John Kirk, the British Columbia Scientific Cryptozoology Club (B.C.S.C.C.) comprises a broadly-based membership of enthusiasts dedicated to the investigation of various animals as yet unidentified by science
- Cryptid ZooOffers a cross-linked list of cryptids, including descriptions and information, sorted alphabetically and by type. Provides an interactive cryptid map, links, and a list of publications and organizations.
- Bigfoot Field Researchers OrganizationIncludes geographic database, theories, research projects, and tips on collecting evidence. It includes detailed reports of sightings from NW Washington.
- Big Cat MonitorsDedicated to proving the existence of wild big cats in the United Kingdom. Includes links, sightings, evidence, and information.
- Mokele-mbembe: The Living Dinosaur!Includes description, habitat, behavior, sightings, and expeditions.
- Loch Ness Information SiteTony Harmsworth's site containing informed comment and personal background views on research during the past 20 years.
Databases
Cryptozoology is an interdisciplinary field that pulls from a variety of subject areas. It is defined as the study of hidden animals. As such, many databases can be used for research in it including those from Biology, History, and Literature.
- Biological Sciences This database indexes a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science, providing access to literature from over 6000 sources including serials, conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents. Includes ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts; Biological Sciences; Biology Digest; Conference Papers Index; MEDLINE; Oceanic Abstracts; and Plant Science.
- America: History and Life A database indexing scholarly literature on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. The scope includes citations and abstracts of journal articles, dissertations, as well as book and media reviews.
Books
This is just a small sampling of library holdings. Please search the catalog for more books.
Giants, Monsters, and Dragons : An Encyclopedia of Folklore, Legend, and Myth - Rose, Carol
Call Number: GR825 .R67 2001
ISBN: 0393322114
The Mystery and Lore of Monsters : With Accounts of Some Giants, Dwarfs and Prodigies - Thompson, C. J. S.
Call Number: GR825 .T5 2003
ISBN: 076617641X
Monsters in English Literature: from the Romantic Age to the First World War - Goetsch, Paul
Call Number: PR468.M59 G64 2002
ISBN: 082045950X
Bigfoot Exposed: An Anthropologist Examines America's Enduring Legend - Daegling, David J
Call Number: QL89.2.S2 D34 2004
ISBN: 0759105383
Michael Lorenzen - Associate Dean for Public Services |
Contact Info Western Washington University Libraries Haggard Hall 231B Bellingham, WA 98225 (360) 650-4449 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |




Loading...
