Library Guides: Research and Writing in Manufacturing Engineering: Search

Step 3: Search for Stuff in 4 Places

Make a list of what you already know.
Connect Google Scholar to WWU.
Look at credible YouTube videos and YouTubers.
Find technical information and grey literature (semi-scholarly, semi-business).
Search Web of Science and IEEE.

Connect Google Scholar

If you connect Google Scholar to Western Washington University, free versions of articles that Western Libraries holds will be linked on the right side with FindIt@WWU.

Technical information and grey literature

Matweb: Material Property Data
A searchable database of material properties includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.
eFunda: Engineering Fundamentals
Materials properties, design guidelines, processes, formulas, and more.

National Technical Report Library
A repository of over two million reports on research paid for by the U.S. government. Full-texts are available for most reports. Free registration is required.

WWU Paid Subscriptions: Web of Science and SciFinder

Web of Science [Clarivate]
A multi-database search tool combining all three Web of Science indexes (the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index).
Tip: You can use this index to find works that have cited a specific author or article.

IEEE Explore
A database of more than 3 million full-text resources covering electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.

Research and Writing in Manufacturing Engineering

Librarians

Librarian Subject Team

Step 3: Search for Stuff in 4 Places

Connect Google Scholar

Technical information and grey literature

WWU Paid Subscriptions: Web of Science and SciFinder