EDU 501: Introduction to Educational Research & Evaluation: Research Databases
Using Subject Databases
The field of study or discipline of Education includes particular theories, discourses, and foundational knowledge. Subject databases include discipline specific terms and index publications and journals in the field.
In all the databases, you can limit to scholarly or "peer reviewed" and that helps when doing a literature review on a topic.
Adding the word "methodology," "research," or "study" to your keyword search can also help. (Example: classroom management and methodology) Remember "research articles" usually contain the following information (usually denoted by separate headings). ABSTRACT - RESEARCH - METHODOLOGY - DISCUSSION/CONCLUSIONS - REFERENCES
When using ERIC, take advantage of the Descriptors field within the article record to refine your search.
Remember that many educational topics spill over into other subject areas like psychology, sociology, and even medical sciences. Generally, it is not effective to combine databases into one multiple database search. For example, retention has one meaning for educators interested in student success and another meaning for psychologists interested in the impact of memory. The Thesaurus in ERIC can help to identify and define subjects and terms, located in the top-left corner of the page.
Search Google Scholar to find citations to scholarly articles. While some articles are freely available via the web, many are not. If you find a useful article citation using Google Scholar, that is not available full-text, use Western Libraries OneSearch. If the article is not on the Internet or available in the library system, then you can request it through ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan).
Adult & Higher Education Research Guide
by Social Sciences & Programs Team Last Updated Jan 14, 2022 105 views this year
by Gabe Gossett Last Updated Oct 11, 2021 1372 views this year
Blended Learning Guide
by Gabe Gossett Last Updated Dec 30, 2021 92 views this year
Children's Literature Interdisciplinary Collection - CLIC
by Social Sciences & Programs Team Last Updated May 4, 2022 306 views this year
Doctor of Education (Ed.D.)
by Sylvia Tag Last Updated Apr 13, 2022 67 views this year
EDU 501: Introduction to Educational Research & Evaluation
by Social Sciences & Programs Team Last Updated Jan 14, 2022 13 views this year
EDUC 310: Education, Culture, & Equality Research Guide
by Social Sciences & Programs Team Last Updated Jan 14, 2022 3 views this year
by Social Sciences & Programs Team Last Updated Jan 14, 2022 52 views this year
Folktales at Western Libraries
by Social Sciences & Programs Team Last Updated Apr 28, 2022 34 views this year
by Social Sciences & Programs Team Last Updated Mar 26, 2020 12 views this year
Tests and Measures: How to Locate
by Social Sciences & Programs Team Last Updated Jul 9, 2021 48 views this year
Zotero Research Management Software
by Gabe Gossett Last Updated Mar 22, 2022 2313 views this year