Library Guides: LGBTQA+ H(i/er)story: Home

Introduction

This guide suggests useful resources for studying lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer h(i/er)story, experience and culture, with an emphasis on materials available through Western Libraries and/or online. It is not exhaustive and many of the resources listed are local or regional in focus. Contact Western Libraries Research Desk or Archives & Special Collections' staff if you need assistance finding more information.

Web Resources and Bibliographies

Women, Gender, Sexuality Studies: Feminist Theory
...feminist theory courses including women studies 212 course on feminist theory
LGBTQ Resources @ Western
This guide provides access to both scholarly and practical resources on WWU's Campus for the LGBTQ populations.
Boston University Research Guide: Gay and Lesbian Studies
Annotated bibliography containing references to published works and links to databases, organizations and other resources re: gay and lesbian issues. Many of the resources listed here are available through Western Libraries. Includes bibliographies and links to resources on specific topics, e.g. military service, same-sex marriage. N.B.
Gay History and Literature
Essays on gay history and literature by Rictor Norton, with book synopses and bibliography.
New York Public Library - Gay and Lesbian Studies Research Guide
Expansive list of works regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender studies.

More Campus Connections

WWU offers a variety of courses and an interdisciplinary minor program in Gay/Lesbian/Bisexual/Transgender (GLBT) studies. Check out the WWU Course Catalog for more information.

LGBTQ+ Western
LGBTQ+ Western works to advance the holistic thriving of diverse LGBTQ+ students, faculty and staff at Western Washington University by collaboratively engaging the university community with transformational knowledge, resources, advocacy and celebration [from website].

Resources from the Western Libraries' Catalog

Encyclopedia of Gender and Society [electronic resource]
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2009
Gender issues and sexuality: essential primary sources
Call Number: Available at Western Library Reference HQ21.G359 2007
Publication Date: 2006
Sex -- Social aspects -- History -- Sources; Sex role -- History -- Sources; Sexual orientation -- History -- Sources; Gender identity -- History -- Sources; Sex customs -- History -- Sources
Labyrinth by Women's Center
Publication Date: 1977 - current
Available at Non-Library Collections AS Sexual Awareness Center (Viking Union 518) HQ1101 .L3
Northwest Passage
Alternative newspaper published in Bellingham and later, Seattle, Washington, circa 1969-1986. Additional copies available at the Center for Pacific Northwest Studies.
Same-sex affairs: constructing and controlling homosexuality in the Pacific Northwest by Boag, Peter
Call Number: Available at Western Library Wilson 4C - Northwest Collection HQ76.2.N67 B63 2003
At the turn of the twentieth century, two distinct, yet at times overlapping, male same-sex sexual subcultures had emerged in the Pacific Northwest: one among the men and boys who toiled in the region's logging, fishing, mining, farming, and railroad-building industries the other among the young urban white-collar workers of the emerging corporate order. Boag draws on police logs, court records, and newspaper accounts to create a vivid picture of the lives of these men and youths--their sexual practices, cultural networks, cross-class relations, variations in rural and urban experiences, and ethnic and racial influences.
Signs: journal of women in culture and society
Call Number: Available at Western Library Haggard 3 - Periodicals HQ1101 .S5
Publication Date: 1975- current
Also available online
Western Front
Student newspaper and a rich source of information re: campus history.
Women's Newsletter
Issues of a bi-weekly women's newsletter, published by the Associated Students' Women's Center at Western Washington State College (1976). Continued by "Women's Page."
Women's Newsletter [microform].
Place of publication varies: LIBRARY HAS: Aug.16, 1971-June 23, 1973. Pub. Info: Berkeley, Calif. : Free University Women's Center, 1971-
Women's Page
Pub. Info.: Bellingham, WA : Women's Center, Associated Students, Western Washington State College, [1976-1977]. Continued by "Labyrinth."

Databases

Western Libraries provides access to a wide variety of article and research databases (a WWU log-in is required). In addition to the examples listed below, please see the Libraries' online guide to Databases A-Z and/or ask staff at the Libraries' Reference Desk for assistance.

Databases for Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies
Databases re: Science, Medicine, Psychology (and other related fields)
Library Guide to article and research databases for fields including psychology, sociology, education, medicine, law, psychiatry, and anthropology.

America: History and Life [EBSCO]
An index of over 1,800 journals from 1895 to the present on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Includes citations and links to books and media reviews.
EBSCO Multi-Database Search
Search all EBSCO databases at once, or click "choose databases" to customize the databases included in your search.
GenderWatch [ProQuest]
A database covering historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles and their effects on all people.
JSTOR [ITHAKA]
A multi-disciplinary full-text database of articles from many scholarly journals. Content available is usually 1-5 years behind the most recently published journal article. Also contains some current journals and books.