Library Guides: Political Science: Political Science Research Databases

Political Science Databases

Academic Search Complete [EBSCO]
A multi-disciplinary database of full-text access to approximately 6,600 journals and magazines and nearly 6,000 full-text peer-reviewed journals.
Topics including anthropology, ethnic and multicultural studies, geography, law, religion and philosophy, and women’s studies.
HeinOnline
A database of historical and government documents, including complete coverage of 2,600 law-related periodicals.
Includes the Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, U.S. Reports back to 1754, treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. presidents, and other topics.
PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service [ProQuest]
An international database of over 500,000 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, reports, conference papers, web content, and other sources.
Publications cover 120 countries around the world on topics including justice, finance, culture and religion, the environment, education, government, health, human rights, international relations, labor, law, defense, politics, demographics, social conditions, trade, and transportation.
Social Sciences Databases [ProQuest]
A multi-database search tool combining all the ProQuest social sciences databases.
Legal Collection [EBSCO]
A database that covers law and legal journals.
Military & Government Collection [EBSCO]
A database including full-texts of many sources as well as indexes and abstracts for periodicals and academic journals selected to provide news about all branches of the military.
Dictionary of Political Biography [Oxford University Press]
A reference resource that briefly describes and assesses the lives of more than 1,000 political figures worldwide.
JSTOR [ITHAKA]
A multi-disciplinary full-text database of articles from many scholarly journals. Content available is usually 1-5 years behind the most recently published journal article. Also contains some current journals and books.

Related Databases

America: History and Life [EBSCO]
An index of over 1,800 journals from 1895 to the present on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Includes citations and links to books and media reviews.
BAS: Bibliography of Asian Studies [EBSCO]
An index of nearly 900,000 citations to publications in Asian Studies dating back to 1971.
Includes timely access to the most important 100+ periodicals about Asia or Asian Studies. Asia- and Southeast Asia-related citations from many other journals are also included.
EconLit [EBSCO]
A database containing 1.5 million citations and abstracts to scholarly articles and other research from 74 countries relating to economics and economics history dating back to 1886.
Tip: Some items in EconLit only contain the citation. For best results, click on "Choose Database" and select both EconLit and Business Source Complete in order to search them together.
Historical Abstracts [EBSCO]
A database of citations and abstracts from more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages on world history (excluding the United States and Canada).
Focuses on the period from the 1400s to the present, with database entries dating back to 1953 or earlier. Topics include all categories of history, from the political and cultural to the technological and scientific.
NACJD: National Archive of Criminal Justice Data [University of Michigan]
A database providing statistics and background information for use in criminological research. Includes information on community studies, corrections, courts, drugs and alcohol, and police behavior.
Philosopher's Index [EBSCO]
A database of indexed abstracts to books and journals in philosophy and related fields.

Country Information

CIA World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
BBC News Country Profiles
Guide to history, politics, and economic background of countries and territories. Includes audio and video clips from BBC archives.

Business Source Complete [EBSCO]
Access business oriented country reports by limiting the Publication Type to "Country Reports"

Gender and Sexuality

Archives of human sexuality and identity: LGBTQ history and culture since 1940 [Gale]
A collection of primary sources that reflect social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world.

Digital Transgender Archive
An online hub dedicated to increasing the accessibility of transgender history. The collection includes digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world.

Encyclopedia of Gender and Society [Sage]
An encyclopedia describing major theories, research, people, and issues in contemporary gender studies.
GenderWatch [ProQuest]
A database covering historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles and their effects on all people.

LGBTQ History in Government Documents: Timeline of Documents
A timeline of U.S. Government documents that trace the history of rights for LGBTQ Americans from 1830-2018.
LGBT Studies in Video
This collection of videos features documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.

Political Science

Librarian Subject Team

Political Science Databases

Related Databases

Country Information

Gender and Sexuality

Other Library Guides