Library Guides: SOC 302 Classical Sociological Theory: Databases

Databases

Sociological Abstracts [ProQuest]
An international database of book review citations and journal article and dissertation abstracts in the field of sociology as well as related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Topics include social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Web of Science [Clarivate]
A multi-database search tool combining all three Web of Science indexes (the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index).
Tip: You can use this index to find works that have cited a specific author or article.
PsycINFO [EBSCO]
A database of abstracts for the international literature in psychology and related disciplines such as sociology, education, consumer behavior, linguistics, medicine, law, psychiatry, and anthropology. Coverage from 1840 to the present.
Tip: This database is very powerful for conducting precise searches when using search limiters.
ERIC [ProQuest]
The world's largest database of education research. Includes bibliographic entries, full-text articles, and a thesaurus of education-related terminology that is used to tag entries in the database.
Google Scholar
A tool to conduct a broad search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, patents, and technical reports.
Tip: Use Google Scholar to see how often a publication has been cited and connect to WWU subscriptions off campus. How do I connect Google Scholar to library subscriptions from off campus?
CQ Researcher [CQ Press / Sage]
A resource for in-depth coverage of political and social issues, written by experienced journalists.
Published 44 times a year, each 12,000-word report includes a background and chronology, an assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, statements from representatives of opposing viewpoints, and bibliographies of key sources. Topics include health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Oxford Reference Online [Oxford University Press]
A collection of over 250 encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference titles spanning a wide variety of subjects. You can search all titles at once or search through individual titles.
MLA International Bibliography [EBSCO]
An index of citations to articles, books, and other publications covering literature, languages, linguistics, folklore, journalism, communications, film, media, and theater.