Library Guides: Government Information: Locating Materials

Where can I find Government Publications?

Government Publications are located in Haggard Hall on the 3rd floor.

Federal Government Publications
Washington State Publications
Canadian Federal Publications
Maps, Atlases, Reference books, and more are located in Wilson Library on the 2nd floor in the Map Collection

For assistance locating materials, contact the Government Documents Librarian.

Use OneSearch to locate items in the Government Documents Collection.

Enter your keywords into the search box
Select the "WWU" search scope
Refine your results by "Format"
- Select "Government Documents"
- Select "Maps"
Refine your results by "Physical Location"
- "Haggard 3 - Government Information"
- Haggard 3 - Washington/Canadian Documents"

GovInfo
The Government Printing Office's source for free access to official government publications.
CGP: Catalog of U.S. Government Publications [U.S. Government]
A catalog of print and electronic publications created by federal agencies. Citations and full-texts are available with coverage beginning in 1976.

HeinOnline
A database of historical and government documents, including complete coverage of 2,600 law-related periodicals.
Includes the Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, U.S. Reports back to 1754, treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. presidents, and other topics.
ProQuest Congressional [ProQuest]
A database of congressional publications. Includes bills, hearings, legislative histories and profiles of members of Congress.

USA.GOV
USA.gov is the government's own search engine, suitable for searching federal and state webpages.
Metalib
Metalib is the federal governments own federated search engine, allowing you to search the Library of Congress Catalog, GovInfo, the Catalog of Government Publications, the AUPIndex of Military Periodicals, etc.