Current Legislative Activities
- Library of Congress
The official website for U.S. legislative information. Links to:
- House & Senate Floor Activites
- Committee Meetings & Reports
- Bill Searches & Lists
- Active Legislation (118th Congress)
Links to:
- Bills, Acts, & Laws
- Nominations
- Treaties
- Votes
- Floor Proceedings
Voting Records and Interest Group Ratings
- GovTrackA nonprofit guide to the activities of Congress.
Who is in Congress?
Biographical Directory for U.S. Congress
The primary source for biographical information on Members of the United States Congress and Continental Congresses since 1859.
The House is one of Congress’s two chambers (the other is the U.S. Senate), and part of the federal government’s legislative branch. The U.S. House of Representatives proposes and passes federal laws as well as representing the interests and concerns of the American people in the federal legislative process. Members are elected from each state based on population.
The U.S. Senate is one of two chambers of the United States Congress, with each state selecting two senators to serve six-year terms. Its primary functions include passing legislation, confirming presidential appointments, and providing a system of checks and balances within the federal government.
Congressional Districts
- Census Publications about Congressional Districts
My Congressional District offers a convenient platform for accessing selected statistics compiled by the U.S. Census Bureau, utilizing data from the American Community Survey (ACS) and County Business Patterns (CBP). This tool provides quick and easy insights into demographic, social, economic, and housing information specific to your Congressional District.
Databases
- HeinOnlineA database of historical and government documents, including complete coverage of 2,600 law-related periodicals.
- ProQuest CongressionalThis database contains Congressional hearings and testimony and legislative histories. It also has the full text of the Congressional Serial Set from 1789 to 1969. The Serial Set includes reports to and from Congress, including such subjects as Lewis and Clark's journeys, Japanese internment, and Nazi concentration camps.