Library Guides: Business & Economics Research Guide: Marketing & Consumer Behavior

Marketing: Company & Industry Resources

Company and industry information are needed when doing any marketing research. For more in-depth information on researching a company and industry, see the Company and Industry pages for more help.

Business Source Complete, Mergent Online, and IBISWorld will provide a general view of a company and it's competitive landscape.

IBISWorld IBISWorld covers more than 700 industries. Each report includes industry analysis, including segmentation and the top competitors of each industry.
Business Source Complete [EBSCO] BSC has both company and industry reports that provide background and context. They include basic financials, lists of competitors, and some segmentation.
Mergent Online Provides financial information about public and private companies, including sales and revenue. It can be searched by industry allowing you to to see competitors.

Marketing: Consumer Behavior

These are resources for researching marketing and consumer behavior. These resources can be used to find out information about who is using a product, who might be using a product, possible demand, and use of a product by a certain group or a specific geography. This information can be used to help determine whether there is a need for a product or small business in a certain area.

Simmons Catalyst [MRI-Simmons] A database that reports on American consumer purchasing habits, viewing habits, demographics, and psychographics. Their information is based on in-person and mail-in surveys of more than 26,000 households.
Business Source Complete [EBSCO] Search for articles about consumer behavior, purchasing habits, and more.
PsycARTICLES [EBSCO] Provides full-text articles and studies related to organizational behavior and consumer behavior.
PsycINFO [EBSCO] Provides summaries of articles and studies related to organizational behavior and consumer behavior.

Policy Map (Public Version) Policy Map is a data and mapping tool that includes data for demographics, income/spending, housing, lending, quality of life, economy, education, health, and federal guidelines.
Census Data The U.S. Census Bureau's main webpage for information from the 2000 Census and related data.
Pew Research Center Pew is a non-partisan research center that provides information on issues, trends, and attitudes of America. The reports are in-depth, searchable, and free. They cover topics like: religion, social & demographics trends, technology use, journalism and more.
MarketResearch.com MarketResearch.Com produces market/industry guides for major companies and organizations. They offer some free educational resources (white papers, ebooks, and more) that can help you get started with marketing research.
Consumer Expenditure Survey Provides information on the buying habits of American consumers--including expenditures and income. Maintained by the Bureau of Labor and Statistics.

How to Use Simmons Catalyst [MRI Simmons]

How to Use Simmons Catalyst [MRI Simmons]
How yo use Simmons, a database on consumer behavior. Includes tutorial on how to use it and how to read a crosstab report.

Marketing: Media Information

Ratings for televisions and streaming media.

Nielsen Top-Ten Ratings Weekly top ten ratings for Streaming, TV, Games, and Advertising.
Pew Internet & American Life Project Provides in-depth reports on the American use of technology from internet usage to texting. Their reports are all searchable and all free of charge

Citation Guides, Writing & Tech Help

APA 7th Edition Citation for Business Sources Alphabetized list of citations for business resources in APA style (7th edition).
Hacherl Research & Writing Studio
WWU's Student Technology Center (STC)
Citation Help
Quick Reference for APA Citations
Quick Reference for Chicago Manual of Style
Quick Reference to MLA Citations